Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 27
    Like Tree1Likes

    Anytime+ not connecting

    This is a discussion on Anytime+ not connecting within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Hi - going through sky helpline diagnosis but don't seem to be getting anywhere. For about the last couple of ...

    1. #1
      dunblaneandersons's Avatar
      dunblaneandersons is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01786
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Anytime+ not connecting

      Hi - going through sky helpline diagnosis but don't seem to be getting anywhere. For about the last couple of weeks Anytime+ has disappeared and I now only have normal Anytime. My Sagem router is ethernet connected to my Samsung HD+ box (all cables have been doubly tested) Wireless connection is fine for broadband on my laptop but when I go into Settings, Network the majority of the time I get Local connection Fail, Service Connection Fail. There have been occasional times over the past couple of weeks that I get an OK and a Fail but still no Anytime+.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ not connecting

      It is kind of unusual for this not to work with a Sky router. Typically mine will lose its link to the Sky On Demand servers when my connection is very busy. Do you know if your connection is busy when you are checking for the Anytime+/On Demand content?

      Could you also post your router's connection stats and run a speedtest and post that too please?

      How to get your Sky Router statistics

      www.speedtest.net

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      dunblaneandersons's Avatar
      dunblaneandersons is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01786
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ not connecting

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      It is kind of unusual for this not to work with a Sky router. Typically mine will lose its link to the Sky On Demand servers when my connection is very busy. Do you know if your connection is busy when you are checking for the Anytime+/On Demand content?

      Could you also post your router's connection stats and run a speedtest and post that too please?

      How to get your Sky Router statistics

      www.speedtest.net
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7892 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.5 db 17.6 db
      Noise Margin 7.8 db 15.8 db
      Anytime+ not connecting-capture.jpg

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ not connecting

      Stranger and stranger.

      Which Sky STB do you have and which version of the firmware is installed? (it will start something like R003 or R005)

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      dunblaneandersons's Avatar
      dunblaneandersons is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01786
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ not connecting

      Photo removed
      R003.047.29.00P
      9780B1
      Samsung


      Details attached
      Last edited by Scubbie; 02-11-12 at 06:44 PM. Reason: Removed photo as it contains personal info

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ not connecting

      Thank you.

      N.B. I've removed the photo as it had your viewing card number and the serial number of the STB.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      dunblaneandersons's Avatar
      dunblaneandersons is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01786
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ not connecting

      sky now telling me I need to replace my hd box (obviously at a cost to me). I mentioned to one of the guys previously that the ethernet port at the back of the box had a solid orange light and blinking green light and he was OK with that. The lady I just spoke to said that they shouldn't be blinking and therefore busted.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ not connecting

      I just spoke to said that they shouldn't be blinking and therefore busted.
      She is talking nonsense, that is quite normal. Try giving the box a Manual address of 192.168.0.100, subnet 255.255.255.0, gateway 192.168.0.1, DNS 208.67.222.222. Remember to save. Put the box into Standby for a couple of minutes and switch on again. See if you have an improvement.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      dunblaneandersons's Avatar
      dunblaneandersons is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01786
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ not connecting

      Weird - I'm now getting either Local OK, Service OK or Local OK, Service Fail on the network screen and when I go to the Anytime screen I sometimes get the pictures or sometimes get the list. Once when the picture came up I scrolled through, went to the library tab and got the error that Anytime+ wasn't available. Another time I managed to view one of the moves from the showcase screen.

    11. #10
      dunblaneandersons's Avatar
      dunblaneandersons is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01786
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ not connecting

      So do we think I need to replace my hd box?

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION