Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Sky Anytime Wifi connector & o2 Broadband...Not working..

    This is a discussion on Sky Anytime Wifi connector & o2 Broadband...Not working.. within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Been at this for hours, now getting really frustrated with it all.. When i first connected the box, it dodn't ...

    1. #1
      encblue's Avatar
      encblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: o2
      Router: o2 Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      Renfrewshire
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Anytime Wifi connector & o2 Broadband...Not working..

      Been at this for hours, now getting really frustrated with it all..

      When i first connected the box, it dodn't automatically open up as it said it would in the instructions..

      So i go into network setting..there is my wireless connection, i put in the passwors & got conection failed.. (& yes the password was in the correct case)

      Now, when i go into network setting; all i get is the following

      It automatically says searching for Network;

      It finds nothing & on screen shows the following

      Local Connection - Fail
      Service Connection - Fail
      IP Address 0.0.0.0
      DHCP ON

      I've tried resetting my router, the wifi connector,all to no avail... I've made my wifi connection unsecure to see if that works, but when i go to Network, i just get the above options.. No wireless options are showing...

      On the verge of sending this back to Sky...Unless anyone can assist.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime Wifi connector & o2 Broadband...Not working..

      9 times out of 10 failures to connect with wireless is due to the password being wrong. The Sky box setup does not help this by immediately hiding what you type in. Why it needs to do this I don't know. Try changing your password on the router to something really simple like AAAAAAAA, see if you can get a connection. If you can, change your password back again.

      It has been found that some ISPs, other than Sky, require the encapsulation mode changed from VC-Mux to LLC. As you are not even connecting to the router, I doubt if it is your problem, but bare it in mind if you do not get a network connection after you connect to the router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      encblue's Avatar
      encblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: o2
      Router: o2 Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      Renfrewshire
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime Wifi connector & o2 Broadband...Not working..

      Changing password isn't going to help, if i can't even access the wireless settings via the Sky HD Box? As per my OP when i go to network

      All i see is the following

      Local Connection - Fail
      Service Connection - Fail
      IP Address 0.0.0.0
      DHCP ON




      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      9 times out of 10 failures to connect with wireless is due to the password being wrong. The Sky box setup does not help this by immediately hiding what you type in. Why it needs to do this I don't know. Try changing your password on the router to something really simple like AAAAAAAA, see if you can get a connection. If you can, change your password back again.

      It has been found that some ISPs, other than Sky, require the encapsulation mode changed from VC-Mux to LLC. As you are not even connecting to the router, I doubt if it is your problem, but bare it in mind if you do not get a network connection after you connect to the router.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime Wifi connector & o2 Broadband...Not working..

      All i see is the following

      Local Connection - Fail
      Service Connection - Fail
      IP Address 0.0.0.0
      DHCP ON
      At the bottom of the screen where you see this, there is a RED button with Reset next to it. Press the RED button on your Remote and it should reset and give you access again. If that does not work press the GREEN button to enter the settings manually.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      encblue's Avatar
      encblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: o2
      Router: o2 Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      Renfrewshire
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime Wifi connector & o2 Broadband...Not working..

      I ran cmd, ipconfig/all to get the required settings and entered them

      Now i get the following

      Local Connection OK
      Service Connection Fail
      IP Address 192.168.1.65
      DHCP Off

      What now? Still at a loss with this :-(

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      At the bottom of the screen where you see this, there is a RED button with Reset next to it. Press the RED button on your Remote and it should reset and give you access again. If that does not work press the GREEN button to enter the settings manually.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime Wifi connector & o2 Broadband...Not working..

      Service Connection Fail
      Can you see the connection in the Attached Devices in your router? If you can, it is probably the Encapsulation problem I mentioned earlier. Try changing this to LLC, or VC-Mux if you already have that selected.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      encblue's Avatar
      encblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: o2
      Router: o2 Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      Renfrewshire
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime Wifi connector & o2 Broadband...Not working..

      No it doesn't show in devices...

      I'm beginning to wonder is my box isn't supported for the wireless connection?, Amstrad DRX895

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Can you see the connection in the Attached Devices in your router? If you can, it is probably the Encapsulation problem I mentioned earlier. Try changing this to LLC, or VC-Mux if you already have that selected.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime Wifi connector & o2 Broadband...Not working..

      All the Sky boxes are fully supported except the Thomson, in fact the sender will work with any ethernet connection once it is set up. Could I suggest you start from fresh by pushing a pin into the reset button on the back of the box and hold it in for about 20 seconds. Make sure it is plugged into the power and the power button on the box is pushed in when you do this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      encblue's Avatar
      encblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: o2
      Router: o2 Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      Renfrewshire
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime Wifi connector & o2 Broadband...Not working..

      Do you mean reset the Sky Receiver or the Wireless Connector? (Reason i ask is, my wireless connector has no power button to press)



      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      All the Sky boxes are fully supported except the Thomson, in fact the sender will work with any ethernet connection once it is set up. Could I suggest you start from fresh by pushing a pin into the reset button on the back of the box and hold it in for about 20 seconds. Make sure it is plugged into the power and the power button on the box is pushed in when you do this.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime Wifi connector & o2 Broadband...Not working..

      The wireless connector. You must have one of the new ones if you don't have a power button on the rear. In that case just make sure the power is on. Maybe someone who has the new type would like to contribute. I don't think there will be much difference, but there may be.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION