Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Powerline plug speed

    This is a discussion on Powerline plug speed within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; I will soon be using Virginmedia's new superhub with speeds upto 30meg. I am currently getting wireless of 13meg. Which ...

    1. #1
      Oldmaster's Avatar
      Oldmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Powerline plug speed

      I will soon be using Virginmedia's new superhub with speeds upto 30meg. I am currently getting wireless of 13meg. Which speed of Powerline adaptor will be suitable for Anytime +? 200mbps or 500mbps?
      Thanks in anticipation!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Powerline plug speed

      Which router are you looking to get?

      If you are getting a route which has 100mb LAN ports, then the 200mb HomePlugs (asynchronous 100mb)will be fine.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Oldmaster's Avatar
      Oldmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Powerline plug speed

      Thanks for your reply. i am not sure about the spec of the router. All I know s that it's Virginmedia's new superhub with downloads speeds of upto 30meg. Are all LAN ports rated the same? So long as the adaptors are rated faster than the LAN port is that OK?

      The spec for the hub states "Supports Gigabit Ethernet (1000Mbps) networking on four ports" if this helps.
      Last edited by Oldmaster; 02-06-12 at 08:14 AM.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Powerline plug speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Oldmaster View Post
      ..."Supports Gigabit Ethernet (1000Mbps) networking on four ports"...
      That appears to be your answer then.

      It looks like you will be better off spending your money on the faster 500mbps HomePlugs.

      Of course if you don't have any computers capable of benefiting from this connection speed, then you won't appreciate the faster speed at this time, but then you won't need to replace them when you get you next computer.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Oldmaster's Avatar
      Oldmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Powerline plug speed

      Thank you I appreciate your help.

    7. #6
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Powerline plug speed

      In Ideal conditions

      Homeplug 200 are good for around 42mbit
      Homeplug 500 are good for around 125mbit

      so if you ever plan to be having faster than 42mbit you will need the 500 ones


      HomePlug AV 500 Adapter Roundup - Admin, Performance, Closing Thoughts - SmallNetBuilder

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION