Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    service connection fail

    This is a discussion on service connection fail within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; hi i am trying to set up the anytime plus but am struggling on the last bit. i have a ...

    1. #1
      alondria's Avatar
      alondria is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01709
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      service connection fail

      hi

      i am trying to set up the anytime plus but am struggling on the last bit. i have a sky router but i'm trying to bridge the gap wirelessly using a bt router, asked on sky help forum but all they said was its not supported (duh! but i'm a grown up, i accept the consequences).

      i tried the manual ip codes suggested in the local connection thread but they just turned the dhcp off which i guess is as good as turning it all off (not very tech savvy). i reset it all with the red button but i still get the service connection fail.


      i would much rather use the stuff i've got instead of paying out for something else and i def ain't paying 60 for their self set up wireless router



      (sorry if that doesn't make much sense, three year old had me up since 6)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,074
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: service connection fail

      Without custom firmware for the BT HomeHub it cannot be done.

      IMHO the best routes for you would to consider are any of these:

      • use a pair of HomePlugs to connect the two routers & piggyback the HomeHub to the Sky router
      • fit an Ethernet cable through a wall socket in both rooms
      • install a Media Bridge (this can e fitted to either the Sky STB or the BT Router)


      For information on how to link the two routers, please see this thread:

      How to connect two Routers together

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      alondria's Avatar
      alondria is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01709
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: service connection fail

      so if i get two of these home plugs, put one in each router it will send a signal from my sky router to the bt router and then the sky box sould accept everything and should sort itself out. would i be likely to have to do anything else?


      i suppose the other option i have is to see if i can get an ethernet cable that is 8 metres long so i can streach around the room from the router to the sky box

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,074
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: service connection fail

      If you have a short Ethernet cable to hand, you can prove the functionality of the suggestions that I have made.

      The HomePlugs work invisibly. The net result is that the appear to be an extended Ethernet cable.

      The guide in the thread that I provided the link for has been provern on a BT HomeHub v1 & v2. There may be some issues with the v2 and an equally good guide by Tom is linked in the thread that can help with these.

      Piggybacking a Home Hub.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      ballerini's Avatar
      ballerini is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01522702409
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Re: service connection fail

      Have full sky +HD internet and phone so thought I would connect to anytime plus so got a cable. plugged in and lost computor internet.Phoned sky to update card only to be told anytime+ was not available in my area and therefore card would not activated and that was why I couldnt use computor so had to disconnect from sky to get the line back. All this could have been avoided if sky had advertised that anytime +was only available in certain areas

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,074
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: service connection fail

      Check which Broadband you have?

      Could you post you router's stats just to confirm whether or not you have Sky BB connect please?

      There is one logical reason why your PC should have stopped working when you plugged the Sky+ HD STB in to the router using the Ethernet Cable. This is if you have set a fixed IP Address for the PC or the Sky STB or both.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: service connection fail

      @Balerini

      You are on Connect, as your exchange is not enabled for Sky. This does not receive Anytime+.

      Please remove your phone number from your profile and replace it with SLSXB which is the code for your exchange.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION