Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 23 12311 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 230
    Like Tree5Likes

    Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

    This is a discussion on Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread... within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; I suppose now that we're receiving the update - might as well get this thread ready lol Anyways... my question... ...

    1. #1
      Jaysun's Avatar
      Jaysun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mansfield (EMMNSFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      I suppose now that we're receiving the update - might as well get this thread ready lol

      Anyways... my question...

      When I got up this morning the sound on the Sky box was very strange, kind of tinny and slightly distorted - all other devices connected to tv were fine, just Sky.

      So (not knowing about the Anytime+ update) I did the power off, press backup routine to force update on box... this added the update and cured the sound problem...

      But why would a pending update cause sound problems on my box?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      nutter123's Avatar
      nutter123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      I have the 780 and I got the anytime update yesterday and I feel that my box has become very sluggish in general? I'm not sure if it's just me or anybody else

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      You may benefit from performing a planner rebuild if your STB is sluggish.

      See this thread for more information:

      tips and tricks for your sky hd and sky+ box

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      nutter123's Avatar
      nutter123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      You may benefit from performing a planner rebuild if your STB is sluggish.

      See this thread for more information:

      tips and tricks for your sky hd and sky+ box
      Sure i've already done that a couple of times but i'll try again. Definety a noteable difference i.e. doesn't seem as responsive now

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      If you've already done it, then perhaps the software has mucked things up after all.

      Many people complained about similar issues when the Darwin update was first launched last year.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      nutter123's Avatar
      nutter123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      If you've already done it, then perhaps the software has mucked things up after all.

      Many people complained about similar issues when the Darwin update was first launched last year.
      Oh joy. Doesn't help the 780 isn't exactly designed to be a darwin box in the first place either I believe. Sky text seems noticeably slower...........and seems lethargic at times through the menus and changing channels. Sound familiar?

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      Sorry, I wasn't saying that you do now have Darwin now, just that the issues you are describing are very much the same.

      Since I don't have access to an Amstrad 780, i can't comment on whether you have Darwin.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      Katash's Avatar
      Katash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      My mrs said she noticed tinny sound from sky (before I noticed there had been an update) .... Box does also seem a bit slower too.

    10. #9
      Jaysun's Avatar
      Jaysun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mansfield (EMMNSFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      Quote Originally Posted by Katash View Post
      My mrs said she noticed tinny sound from sky (before I noticed there had been an update) .... Box does also seem a bit slower too.
      yeah this was our problem, although fine after update - wonder what the connection is?

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      Looking at posts on the Sky Help Forum, it does appear that you now all have Darwin.

      The full O/S version number is: SYSF32.22

      Version 4F30A3
      EPG 42.0.5.1 3

      The 'SYSF' is used to confirm Darwin on the other STBs, hence my logic. It would be nice if someone can confirm this by using Copy+, for example.

      Some of the solutions suggested with Darwin issues previously included:

      * Remove any unwanted programs & then perform a 'Planner Rebuild'
      * Perform a 'Full System Reset' (Caution: This will wipe all recorded programs)

      There are several threads on the Sky Help Forum, rather than list them individually, check the link below:

      Sky Help Forum - Sky Anytime+ - Help & Support from the Official Sky Forum

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 23 12311 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION