Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 76
    Like Tree2Likes

    Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

    This is a discussion on Sky Anytime plus wireless options... within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; In case this helps anyone, I set up a spare Edimax 7416apn (about 35) I had as a bridge. It ...

    1. #31
      kcrolla's Avatar
      kcrolla is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilkeston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      In case this helps anyone, I set up a spare Edimax 7416apn (about 35) I had as a bridge. It was frustrating because I couldn't get anytime plus to work, but I discovered through calling sky that my Thomson box wasn't compatible. They brought me a new box yesterday, Amstrad, and the bridge works beautifully - Anytime plus too.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      edwar368's Avatar
      edwar368 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      I use one of these
      [ame=http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0018DQCLE/ref=oss_product]Buffalo Nfiniti Wireless-N Dual Band Ethernet Converter: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories[/ame]

      Admittedly its not much cheaper, but given that I have a Network enabled TV, Network enabled Blue ray player and a Wiii. This makes it a doddle to connect all of them at once

    4. #33
      Awest3's Avatar
      Awest3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01527
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      154
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      heres one for the techies..

      Looking in my garage I found a Cisco Systems Aironet series 340 access point.! approx year of manufacture 2000.! All seems to be working ok..flashing lights etc..

      Can I use this to provide a wireless bridge for my Sky anytime plus connection...
      I have tried to plug it in but just get the msg 'Sky anytime plus unable to communicate with your router'.

      The documentation I have (very little) says I have to get into the browser to be able to alter various items...but I don't know how to get into the browser..

      Its just an exercise so its interesting rather than important..

      Thanks

      Al

    5. #34
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Although good in its day, your Cisco is now a bit long in the tooth. It is wireless 'B' which means it has a theoretical maximum speed of 11mbps. In practise this is unlikely to be much more than 2-3mbps. It would possibly do the job you want, but the speed you get will be dependant on the fabric of your home. A full manual with set up instructions os here-
      http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/wire...de/ebridge.pdf

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Awest3 (18-07-11)

    7. #35
      Awest3's Avatar
      Awest3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01527
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      154
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Thanks for this.....I think you are exactly right... I bought a netgear universal adapter 34.50 to use instead. The cisco can go in the bin...

      Al

    8. #36
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      You could always use the Cisco router. Disable the WiFi and set it up as piggyback to your main router.

      This would provide you with some additional LAN ports should you require them.

      How to connect two Routers together

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Awest3 (18-07-11)

    10. #37
      Awest3's Avatar
      Awest3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01527
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      154
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Thanks for that, Netgear adapter just arrived...works perfectly. You have to set it up...dead easy.. disconnect Ethernet cable from PC to router and plug it into your netgear adapter (ie you are talking to the PC not the router). When you open your browser it automatically takes you into the set-up page..give it the information..which router, WPA password and away you go...its all in the instuction booklet. If you have a WPS router its even easier...just connect up and push the WPS buttons on the adapter and router ( I don't so went through the first procedure).

      Al

    11. #38
      uncletupelo's Avatar
      uncletupelo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSARD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      I hope someone can help. I have 2 Sky routers in my home; 1 old Netgear and a brand new D-Link.

      The Netgear is a little flakey and so I was given a replacement in the D-Link.

      Is there anyway to use the Netgear as a bridge between my HD stb and the D-Link? And if there is how do I do it?

      Thanks in advance

    12. #39
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Is there anyway to use the Netgear as a bridge between my HD stb and the D-Link? And if there is how do I do it?
      Not without connecting them with an ethernet cable, they will not connect wirelessly if that's what you mean.

      Instructions here - How to connect two Routers together

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    13. #40
      uncletupelo's Avatar
      uncletupelo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSARD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Not without connecting them with an ethernet cable, they will not connect wirelessly if that's what you mean.

      Instructions here - How to connect two Routers together
      Yes, it was the wireless option I was looking at. Thanks for the link but its wireless or nothing.

      Thanks though.

     

     
    Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION