Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 76
    Like Tree2Likes

    Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

    This is a discussion on Sky Anytime plus wireless options... within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/speed...tml#post252662 I posted here about HomePlugs. I can't recommend them enough. They will work perfectly....

    1. #11
      District69's Avatar
      District69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tulse Hill
      Broadband ISP: 13mbs
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      London
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Powerplugs, homeplugs etc - best ones?

      I posted here about HomePlugs. I can't recommend them enough. They will work perfectly.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      antbates1991's Avatar
      antbates1991 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burton On Trent
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Burton On Trent
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Quote Originally Posted by Naranja View Post
      I just bought one of these OpenMedia Wifi Bridge - Make Your Dreambox Wireless on eBay (end time 28-Nov-10 14:27:18 GMT) It's powered by the USB too so no power outlet needed

      My box has the new software but can't activate it on the sky website so at present can't test it. On the network tab both connections are OK and IP address has an address so should be ready to go
      Are you powering it off the Sky box's USB or another device's USB like your TV/Blu-ray/DVD. I thought the USB wasn't active on the Sky box.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      The power side of the USB works on the Sky box, the data side is not enabled.

      The latest firmware disables even this
      Last edited by Isitme; 22-04-11 at 12:01 PM. Reason: added info

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      antbates1991's Avatar
      antbates1991 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burton On Trent
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Burton On Trent
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The power side of the USB works on the Sky box, the data side is not enabled.
      Ah thankyou very much.

    6. #15
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Quote Originally Posted by Naranja View Post
      I just bought one of these OpenMedia Wifi Bridge - Make Your Dreambox Wireless on eBay (end time 28-Nov-10 14:27:18 GMT) It's powered by the USB too so no power outlet needed

      My box has the new software but can't activate it on the sky website so at present can't test it. On the network tab both connections are OK and IP address has an address so should be ready to go
      That looks a very neat device,

    7. #16
      Naranja's Avatar
      Naranja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      That looks a very neat device,
      It's very small, sits nicely on top of my HD box and is very easy to set up. Just need my pace box activated now

    8. #17
      palaceben's Avatar
      palaceben is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01926
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Location
      Leamington Spa
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Quote Originally Posted by Naranja View Post
      It's very small, sits nicely on top of my HD box and is very easy to set up. Just need my pace box activated now

      I got a letter from Sky this morning inviting me to register. Have you registered and tried it out yet? Does it work?

    9. #18
      Naranja's Avatar
      Naranja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Quote Originally Posted by palaceben View Post
      I got a letter from Sky this morning inviting me to register. Have you registered and tried it out yet? Does it work?
      Yes all up and running mate, sometimes loses network connection but that could be due to router positioned behind sofa.

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Naranja For This Useful Post:

      palaceben (21-01-11)

    11. #19
      palaceben's Avatar
      palaceben is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01926
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Location
      Leamington Spa
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Hmmm .. so I've got my Wifi Bridge. Very nice, and works a treat as an ethernet connection for my laptop. Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be any power coming out of the USB port on my HD box (Samsung SYSF26.59.01 Version number 9730B3). Anybody got any ideas of how to switch it on? Or will I have to stretch the power cable on the Bridge to a mains source?

    12. #20
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      It would seem that Sky have turned the power output on the USB sockets off on some models. This is causing several members problems.

      Could I suggest that you call Sky to see if Customer services can enable it for you (surely their own WiFi bridge requires power as well!).

      If this doesn't work, there are a number of options to get power to the bridge.

      You could purchase a 4 way electric extension with built-in USB sockets. I know that Maplin does this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      palaceben (09-02-11)

     

     
    Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION