Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Static IP address?

    This is a discussion on Static IP address? within the Router stats forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Where I'm confused with all of this is why am I only having this problem with my printer? Everything else ...

    1. #11
      DRGW's Avatar
      DRGW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0117
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      129
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Static IP address?

      Where I'm confused with all of this is why am I only having this problem with my printer? Everything else (TV, laptop etc) connects to the WiFi with no issues at all.

      At the moment I only have my laptop & tablet switched on. They are both showing on attached devices. There is a 3rd connected which I don't know what it is. It shows as "Unknown"


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,451
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 377 Times in 367 Posts

      Re: Static IP address?

      Does the "Unknown" disappear if you turn your printer off?

    4. #13
      DRGW's Avatar
      DRGW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0117
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      129
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Static IP address?

      The printer is currently off. I just thought could the Unknown be my Sky+HD box? That is on standby and is connected to my router via a cable.

    5. #14
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,451
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 377 Times in 367 Posts

      Re: Static IP address?

      That could be it. If it's an Amstrad/Sky box its MAC address should start: "00:19:fb"

    6. #15
      DRGW's Avatar
      DRGW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0117
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      129
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Static IP address?

      Yep it's definitely the Sky box then. I've got a print out showing things about the settings etc. I've not got a clue what any of it means!

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Static IP address?

      I've got a print out showing things about the settings etc. I've not got a clue what any of it means!
      Maybe if you post them someone will be able to help further.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION