Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Are my stats better now

    This is a discussion on Are my stats better now within the Router stats forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Sky have been playing with my downloads , I see they have capped my line but is all looking ok ...

    1. #1
      BionicMan's Avatar
      BionicMan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAFEL
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      East Anglia
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Are my stats better now

      Sky have been playing with my downloads , I see they have capped my line but is all looking ok after capping

      Thanks Guys

      ppp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.206.91.31 P-t-P:87.87.251.192 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:145339 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:88134 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:187653841 (178.9 MiB) TX bytes:10076777 (9.6 MiB)

      Uptime 249862.65 249257.32
      Wan up 61.97 47.32
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 412 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7615 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.7 23.0
      Attn(dB): 43.0 23.3
      Pwr(dBm): 23.5 7.1
      Max(Kbps): 8976 516
      Rate (Kbps): 7615 412
      G.dmt framing
      K: 35(0) 13
      R: 6 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 128 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 82 70
      B: 34 12
      M: 1 8
      T: 5 1
      R: 6 16
      S: 0.1462 7.4418
      L: 2243 129
      D: 384 8
      Counters
      SF: 15531734 14696238
      SFErr: 1373 4
      RS: 2538995684 1017978
      RSCorr: 1446323 571
      RSUnCorr: 192010 0

      HEC: 850 0
      OCD: 279 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 192119329 306213309
      Data Cells: 4027712 310323
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 515 6
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 19 45
      AS: 249834

      INP: 4.10 3.96
      PER: 16.08 17.67
      delay: 14.03 14.88
      OR: 43.76 34.40

      Bitswap: 25251 1109

      Total time = 1 days 21 hours 24 min 22 sec
      SF = 15531734
      CRC = 1373
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 515
      Latest 1 day time = 21 hours 24 min 22 sec
      SF = 4790838
      CRC = 537
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 201
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 22 sec
      SF = 34981
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55931
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5371291
      CRC = 557
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 190
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55994
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55932
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55994
      CRC = 65
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 15
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0




      *** We Can Rebuild Him ***


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Are my stats better now

      They look fine. You might be able to squeeze a tiny bit more speed but then your errors would rise.

    4. #3
      BionicMan's Avatar
      BionicMan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAFEL
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      East Anglia
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are my stats better now

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      They look fine. You might be able to squeeze a tiny bit more speed but then your errors would rise.
      If I did that then I would be back to where I was , what do you think I could go up to ? .
      I'am also thinking of getting a new line put in from BT , would they more original master to the front bedroom ? . What would a new cost me ?

      Once again Thanks




      *** We Can Rebuild Him ***

    5. #4
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Are my stats better now

      Quote Originally Posted by BionicMan View Post
      If I did that then I would be back to where I was , what do you think I could go up to ? .
      I'am also thinking of getting a new line put in from BT , would they more original master to the front bedroom ? . What would a new cost me ?

      Once again Thanks
      They wont replace your line, but call out fee was for me 140.

    6. #5
      BionicMan's Avatar
      BionicMan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAFEL
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      East Anglia
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are my stats better now

      Quote Originally Posted by Monday View Post
      They wont replace your line, but call out fee was for me 140.

      So not even from the poll to my house , why not ? . What if there was a problem with main cable coming into my house ? .

      They must reply if I had a problem with the line ?




      *** We Can Rebuild Him ***

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Are my stats better now

      Quote Originally Posted by BionicMan View Post
      what do you think I could go up to ?
      Your profile says you are on Mid so 8196kbps is the maximum.

      If you moved to Max/ADSL2+ and have a relatively quiet line, your attenuation shows you have a potential top speed of ~9250kbps.

    8. #7
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are my stats better now

      Quote Originally Posted by BionicMan View Post
      So not even from the poll to my house , why not ? . What if there was a problem with main cable coming into my house ? .

      They must reply if I had a problem with the line ?
      There is no problem with your line though. So Not broken don't fix it. Simple

    9. #8
      BionicMan's Avatar
      BionicMan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAFEL
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      East Anglia
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are my stats better now

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Your profile says you are on Mid so 8196kbps is the maximum.

      If you moved to Max/ADSL2+ and have a relatively quiet line, your attenuation shows you have a potential top speed of ~9250kbps.
      Thats where the problem is , I think my line is nosiy .
      I was capped around 8096 before now capped at 7615 , but the nosie margin seem the same bur the attenuation has gone up from 40 to 43 ? ? .
      When sky took the cap off I kept on disconnected as my margin would drop under 5db .

      So if I moved to max that would put me on ADSL2+

      Also I'am running an exstention from the master which has a filltered faceplate with some cable the BT guy left me , thing is I don't think its the correct cable for Broadband

      Do you think I should ring sky and ask about my line being capped ? ?

      Thanks Guys




      *** We Can Rebuild Him ***

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Are my stats better now

      Your attenuation rose because you moved from G.DMT to ADSL2+ i.e. you are already on it.

      No, personally I don't think you should call Sky about being capped. You are connecting at less than half a meg under the maximum speed for your package (8meg) and presumably your connection is stable. Do you think you'd really notice an extra half meg? And would you swap that for a less stable line?
      Last edited by Saturday; 21-06-08 at 07:03 PM.

    11. #10
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Are my stats better now

      Quote Originally Posted by BionicMan View Post
      Thats where the problem is , I think my line is nosiy .
      I was capped around 8096 before now capped at 7615 , but the nosie margin seem the same bur the attenuation has gone up from 40 to 43 ? ? .
      When sky took the cap off I kept on disconnected as my margin would drop under 5db .

      So if I moved to max that would put me on ADSL2+

      Also I'am running an exstention from the master which has a filltered faceplate with some cable the BT guy left me , thing is I don't think its the correct cable for Broadband

      Do you think I should ring sky and ask about my line being capped ? ?

      Thanks Guys
      Plug a corded phone into the test socket. Dial 17070 and choose "quiet line test", just listen to the line for about 5 minutes, if you hear any persistent noise,crackles then its a line problem.

      But really, BT wont replace the cable running into your house if its not necessary.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION