Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Line stats? Looking to be uncapped, any good

    This is a discussion on Line stats? Looking to be uncapped, any good within the Router stats forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hey Back in Jan/Feb Sky capped my connection, not sure of the reason but guessing due to errors. Before this ...

    1. #1
      hinz's Avatar
      hinz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thurnby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Line stats? Looking to be uncapped, any good

      Hey

      Back in Jan/Feb Sky capped my connection, not sure of the reason but guessing due to errors. Before this I use to sync at 15323 DL and 767 UP.

      Question is are my line stats good enough to be uncapped? Since then i've hooked up the ADSLNation master faceplate and rewired the ADSL phone extension to my room with a new cable.

      Thanks

      Here's my stats

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 396 Kbps, Downstream rate = 12286 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.1 24.5
      Attn(dB): 17.5 10.7
      Pwr(dBm): 0.7 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 14864 496
      Rate (Kbps): 12286 396
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 13
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 98 68
      B: 238 12
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.6198 7.7419
      L: 3291 124
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 86910366 86910364
      SFErr: 221 13
      RS: 448743548 201867182
      RSCorr: 51984073 459017
      RSUnCorr: 7656 0

      HEC: 206 94
      OCD: 11 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1934071562 1310830659
      Data Cells: 398412905 64204848
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 98 5
      SES: 17 0
      UAS: 14 640654
      Total time = 1 days 5 hours 5 min 34 sec
      SF = 86910366
      CRC = 221
      LOS = 18
      LOF = 0
      ES = 98
      Latest 1 day time = 5 hours 5 min 34 sec
      SF = 1137596
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 34 sec
      SF = 20719
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55894
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5360872
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55831
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55832
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55831
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Line stats? Looking to be uncapped, any good

      They look pretty reasonable - you'll always get some errors on a fast ADSL2+ connection.

      Yes, I think you'd probably be OK uncapped. If not then you can always adjust things yourself. Uncapped and on ADSL2+ means you can adjust mode, noise margin etc.

      BTW why Sky have capped your upstream so much is a mystery.

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Line stats? Looking to be uncapped, any good

      just dont use the extention to ur room and run an ethernet cable instead - bet u'd get no errors on ur line in master.....extentions are bad i tell thee!!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      hinz's Avatar
      hinz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thurnby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line stats? Looking to be uncapped, any good

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      just dont use the extention to ur room and run an ethernet cable instead - bet u'd get no errors on ur line in master.....extentions are bad i tell thee!!!
      I'm using the ADSL Nation faceplate which gives me the unfiltered extension purely for the ADSL. Originally I had planned to use Cat5e cable but due to the where the master socket is placed in the house drilling such a large hole through the side of the window wasn't suitable, lol. So I just went with good old CW1308 cable which is alot easier to work with..

      How do I get myself uncapped do I have to go through T1,--->T3?

      thanks

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Line stats? Looking to be uncapped, any good

      As IANTE says, ethernet will give the best results but a dedicated extension off an ADSLnation faceplate is a good second best.

      To get uncapped call Sky and tell them you were capped for an earlier problem that is now resolved and ask to be put through to T3. Don't discuss anything with T1, it will only lead to tears. If the T1 won't play ball politely end the call and call again to get a new agent.

    7. #6
      hinz's Avatar
      hinz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thurnby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line stats? Looking to be uncapped, any good

      Cheers Saturday will get it sorted this week Will post back on my progress

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION