Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    View Poll Results: What is your Ping on SkyBB

    Voters
    123. You may not vote on this poll
    • 10-20ms

      3 2.44%
    • 20-30ms

      9 7.32%
    • 30-40ms

      17 13.82%
    • 40-50ms

      17 13.82%
    • 50-60ms

      15 12.20%
    • 60-70ms

      12 9.76%
    • 70-80ms

      14 11.38%
    • 80-90ms

      9 7.32%
    • 90-100ms

      6 4.88%
    • 100ms+

      21 17.07%
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 32

    Pings

    This is a discussion on Pings within the Polls forums, part of the Website news category; 33ms from bbc.co.uk...

    1. #11
      sc0tsman's Avatar
      sc0tsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: livingston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      166
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pings

      33ms from bbc.co.uk


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pings

      14ms from bbc.co.uk
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    4. #13
      maxey's Avatar
      maxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs down Re: Pings

      I get 80+ and im not happy at all.

      :< :< :< :< !!!!!

    5. #14
      Geezer's Avatar
      Geezer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Crayford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pings

      Hi all first post, great site BTW!, pings of 70/80 for me not good I play a lot of COD2 it's not stopped me playing but I would like to lower it if I could

    6. #15
      lazyretiredgit's Avatar
      lazyretiredgit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pings

      Quote Originally Posted by TheWhizzz View Post
      for people that don't know.......... how do you ping ?? lol
      Open a dos windows ie. Start>Run> Type 'cmd' without the ',s. Then type 'ping' followed by the ip address you want to check and then press enter. For example if you want to ping a game server at ip 85.236.100.42 you would enter:

      ping 85.236.100.42

      The ping command sends 4 pings to the ip address and then tells you the slowest, fastest and average ping

      However if you join the game server at that address you are likely to find the in game ping to be a bit more than the ping command gives you. In the above example I get an average of 10 milliseconds ie. a ping of 10. But if I join the game server at 85.236.100.42:28960 my in game ping is 20

    7. #16
      zub's Avatar
      zub
      zub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upton Park
      Broadband ISP: Getting better, could do with fastpath though :(
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pings

      Maybe the poll should be changed a bit, i mean people on the connect or mid package will usually get much better pings than people on the max package (where it is a lot worse).


      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      When you play an online game, normally your PING is on the screen etc - On BF2142 when you look at who is on the server, it lists the players pings.

      Zub was approx 57 on our server the other night, had to laugh as he nicked a tank off the enemy and someone got a little upset
      That did take it a little too seriously though, lol was funny enough.

    8. #17
      maxping's Avatar
      maxping is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cumbria - U.K
      Posts
      401
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pings

      Quote Originally Posted by zub View Post
      Maybe the poll should be changed a bit, i mean people on the connect or mid package will usually get much better pings than people on the max package (where it is a lot worse).


      .
      Can you explain?
      When i had 512k BB my ping was the same as when i moved to 2mb now I'm on 8mb its the same. (I'm not a sky user).
      Why do you think theres a difference between mid & max packages ?

    9. #18
      zub's Avatar
      zub
      zub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upton Park
      Broadband ISP: Getting better, could do with fastpath though :(
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pings

      max is on interleave whereas the rest are set to default on fast path. that is why. plus i used to get sub 15ms on my old 2meg connection and with sky max it is a lot worse.

    10. #19
      maxping's Avatar
      maxping is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cumbria - U.K
      Posts
      401
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pings

      Quote Originally Posted by zub View Post
      max is on interleave whereas the rest are set to default on fast path. that is why. plus i used to get sub 15ms on my old 2meg connection and with sky max it is a lot worse.
      Thanks for the reply,i will be going for the Mid package so hopefully i will get decent pings.

    11. #20
      zub's Avatar
      zub
      zub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upton Park
      Broadband ISP: Getting better, could do with fastpath though :(
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pings

      heres to hoping.

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION