Definitely not! It's taken some time to get my Attenuation and Noise Margin right for my "long line" from the exchange. If I started switching it off at night I would reck those setting as soon as I switched in back on in the morning and it renegotiated a higher Sync rate that would again cause problems in the evenings.

Question: I wonder if restoring my saved setting would also restore the sync rate info??

Also from a practical point of view, when I'm working away from home I use DynDNS to access the FTP server on my Synology NAS to access my files, etc.