Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    View Poll Results: My Connection has changed

    Voters
    72. You may not vote on this poll
    • from MER to PPPoA

      20 27.78%
    • from PPPoA to MER

      11 15.28%
    • Always been MER

      21 29.17%
    • Always been PPPoA

      15 20.83%
    • I have no idea what you are on about

      5 6.94%
    Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 81
    Like Tree6Likes

    Sky Connections Changing from MER to PPPoA

    This is a discussion on Sky Connections Changing from MER to PPPoA within the Polls forums, part of the Website news category; was on MER , now on PPPoA - know of 1 other person in same boat also, tracert 2nd hop ...

    1. #21
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sky Connections Changing from MER to PPPoA

      was on MER , now on PPPoA - know of 1 other person in same boat

      also, tracert 2nd hop now fails every time (time-out), same with other person who has been switched back to PPPoA

      performance is exactly the same, no difference at all.

      Ive been told that people are speculating that sky are reserving MER for FTTC connections
      - Hardware - Netgear DG834Nv1
      - Line Attenuation - 27.5db
      - Sync Rate - 17,600k
      - Noise Margin - 7db
      - Latency - 28ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Poppet25's Avatar
      Poppet25 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCFOM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Formby
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Connections Changing from MER to PPPoA

      Quote Originally Posted by snadge View Post
      was on MER , now on PPPoA - know of 1 other person in same boat

      also, tracert 2nd hop now fails every time (time-out), same with other person who has been switched back to PPPoA

      performance is exactly the same, no difference at all.
      Same here, the second hop fails every time, Sky.com timed out my own site was straight in there apart from the second hop with low latency...

      I'm on ADSL...

    4. #23
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Connections Changing from MER to PPPoA

      Ive been told that people are speculating that sky are reserving MER for FTTC connections
      That don't make sense to me, unless Sky expect more people on Fibre than normal ADSL?

      I would have thought that there are more performance gains, or more reliability, or even better compatibility with their kit in the exchanges is more likely.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #24
      James_478's Avatar
      James_478 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aycliffe [NEAYC]
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Connections Changing from MER to PPPoA

      Are they maybe doing this because they are getting close to announcing that customers can use their own routers? *Crosses fingers*

      I'm still on MER

    6. #25
      G3WYP's Avatar
      G3WYP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Plusnet Hub one
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Connections Changing from MER to PPPoA

      I noticed that both my download speed and upload had increased last week and also I have been changed from MER to PPPoA

      Download now 9213 from 7??? and Upload now 945 from 6?? Sorry cannot remember exact previous speeds.

      Intersting that this area is due to get Fibre later this month, although several cabinets have not been cabled up yet.

    7. #26
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      249
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: Sky Connections Changing from MER to PPPoA

      MER would certainly make more sense for fibre, having to use the separate modem & router.

    8. #27
      nevets5891's Avatar
      nevets5891 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESNRB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Location
      North Berwick
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Connections Changing from MER to PPPoA

      Sorry to dig up an old thread but I've just noticed I've been changed from MER to PPPoA. I used to sync at 16meg down 1.3meg up but now it's 14meg down 1meg up. I'm a bit dischuffed that I've lost some speed to be honest. I don't think it can be prep for FTTC as it's only a small exchange with around 3500 customers.

      Sky were the first LLU in our exchange and I got it as soon as it was available.

      When I run tracert it now shows easynet.co.uk whereas it used to be sky.com
      Attached Images Attached Images

    9. #28
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sky Connections Changing from MER to PPPoA

      the traceroute...is this on the 2nd hop? as it would appear that sky have (or are) disabling replies on the 2nd hop.. my 3rd hop says ov.easynet.net and used to say something similar to 2nd hop which would be something like dr1.enlba.sky.com

      all you can do is call them up and ask them to manually re-profile your line...hopefully that should do it.

      if they are keeping MER for fibre then it wont matter if your exchange is getting it or not, the protocol would be applied nationwide, that is too say exchanges that arent getting fibre (or currently dont have it...like mine) wont be left on MER... if PPPoA is to be used for ADSL, only then that means everyone.
      nevets5891 likes this.
      - Hardware - Netgear DG834Nv1
      - Line Attenuation - 27.5db
      - Sync Rate - 17,600k
      - Noise Margin - 7db
      - Latency - 28ms

    10. #29
      nevets5891's Avatar
      nevets5891 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESNRB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Location
      North Berwick
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Connections Changing from MER to PPPoA

      Quote Originally Posted by snadge View Post
      the traceroute...is this on the 2nd hop? as it would appear that sky have (or are) disabling replies on the 2nd hop.. my 3rd hop says ov.easynet.net and used to say something similar to 2nd hop which would be something like dr1.enlba.sky.com

      all you can do is call them up and ask them to manually re-profile your line...hopefully that should do it.

      if they are keeping MER for fibre then it wont matter if your exchange is getting it or not, the protocol would be applied nationwide, that is too say exchanges that arent getting fibre (or currently dont have it...like mine) wont be left on MER... if PPPoA is to be used for ADSL, only then that means everyone.
      It's on my third hop, so I'm prob still on the SVBN, it's just I've been changed to PPPoA. I'll give them a call and see about being reprofiled. I'm hoping to buy a router that I can set the SNR on soon so I'll see what improvements I get on that. Fancy a Netgear DGND3700.
      Attached Images Attached Images

    11. #30
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sky Connections Changing from MER to PPPoA

      I fancied a DGND3700 too but they are meant to have problems, there is a V2 thats just come out but dunno what its like OR if the Broadcom chipset remains (think so)

      I opted for a Huawei HG612 v3B and piggy-back my own router (Sky-Hub) for wifi on it, its a really cheap way (circa 5-10 on ebay) of getting the same BCM6368 chipset thats in the DGND3700 but without 5Ghz and 1Gbit LAN etc etc - yeah it means powering two devices .. but will do for now until someone hacks the Sky-Hub or BT-Home-Hub V3 Type B (both are BCM6361 chipsets and perform better than the BCM6368 on my connection)

      I have fixed the HG612 too the wall above the phone master socket (its made for that, with vents on the top) so its hidden out of view and only the sky-hub is on display.

      with the sky-hub I can get 17.2Mb with 7db SNRM
      with the HG612 I can now get 16.6Mb with 7db SNRM
      ...but bringing noise margin down to 3db I can get 19.2Mb..so a 2Mb boost compared to Sky-Hub

      I have same Line Attenuation as you so should get similar results (depending on noise encroachment)
      - Hardware - Netgear DG834Nv1
      - Line Attenuation - 27.5db
      - Sync Rate - 17,600k
      - Noise Margin - 7db
      - Latency - 28ms

     

     
    Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION