Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    View Poll Results: Would you recommend Sky Broadband to a friend/relative who is not IT literate.

    Voters
    127. You may not vote on this poll
    • Yes

      35 27.56%
    • No

      82 64.57%
    • n/a

      10 7.87%
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25

    Would you recommend Sky Broadband to your (not so IT literate) friends

    This is a discussion on Would you recommend Sky Broadband to your (not so IT literate) friends within the Polls forums, part of the Website news category; How comfortable would you be recommending Sky to a friend/relative who is not as IT literate as yourself? For me ...

    1. #1
      far2wired's Avatar
      far2wired is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: KINGSMEAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Bath, UK
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Would you recommend Sky Broadband to your (not so IT literate) friends

      How comfortable would you be recommending Sky to a friend/relative who is not as IT literate as yourself?

      For me its a no, after a month of consistently having to reboot my router I certainly would not want to explain that...
      Sky Broadband Max | Wired | Clarity modified ADSL master socket | 10m twisted pair ADSL extension


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      lol I would rather refer them to Sky then Plusnet tho if you think Sky have it bad.......


      only an opinion


      edit: this would make a great poll




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      as if by magic a poll appears

      Can you add an option for n/a for those who wish to abstain? If not I can do it for you

      edit: moved to polls forum so it shows on front page and added the n/a option as I aint on Sky and can't confirm how bad it is or isn't
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 02-10-06 at 08:38 PM.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Not only would I, I have at least to my neighbours anyway since I fix all there computer problems anyway and they are all on my exchange and my connection is great
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      hmm me too after all this trouble with getting me connected with Sky the speed I get compared with Free Online (Plusnet) is far better and I'm sure the whole aspect of Sky's broadband phone customer service will get better given time, I would recommend a friend.

    7. #6
      far2wired's Avatar
      far2wired is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: KINGSMEAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Bath, UK
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      lol I would rather refer them to Sky then Plusnet tho if you think Sky have it bad.......


      only an opinion


      edit: this would make a great poll
      I would have to agree with you there. I support a customer who runs a ballet school. Unfortunately there user account was in the a-b of customer accounts PlusNet *ahem* LOST... Which wasnt there fault it was "power conduit"...

      It took over 3 weeks for support to respond with a "we are looking into it". We ended up reuploading the site from one of our many (whats the word I'm looking for, oh yes) BACKUPS.

      2 weeks after that. I've now moved the site to a different host which I have been using for the last 2 years and not had a single problem with (PlusNet we had 6 occasions the site was down), following the recent scr3w up where again the cgi platform is down.

      Rumour has it they are folding... Good ridance, bunch of muppet cowboys... If my business lost ISP service we work 24/7 until service restored. 3 weeks its totally unacceptable...

      Sorry rant over, *stepping off box* better now
      Sky Broadband Max | Wired | Clarity modified ADSL master socket | 10m twisted pair ADSL extension

    8. #7
      Ronni's Avatar
      Ronni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas, EMSTBBS
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Would NOT recommend SKY BB at the moment.

      However, once SKY BB sorts out their problems & become reasonably efficient in dealing with customers, then I probably would recommend SKY BB

    9. #8
      []V[]orpheus's Avatar
      []V[]orpheus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leatherhead
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      As Ronni said, ATM I'm trying to run back to my old ISP, purely on connection issues I have had and their customer Service second to us (who I work for) I would say.

      So my answer was no.
      Last edited by Wheelie; 03-10-06 at 09:47 AM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post.Please use QUOTE sparingly please use @User Name this helps keep the forum tidy thanks

    10. #9
      geeewar's Avatar
      geeewar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Paisley
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Absolutely No Way Amigo !!

      I have to say that i have never experienced anything like the service from Sky. I am amazed that they are treating people in this manner, its hard to believe that they are actually getting away with it. I am presently trying to get my MAC code so i can get as far away from them as possible. Even if i ever got it up and running i would dread contacting their technical team in India or wherevever it is, as they cant understand Scottish and i cant understand English with an Indian accent.

      STAY AWAY FROM SKY ...

    11. #10
      youravinalarrrf's Avatar
      youravinalarrrf is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: MYBD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      327
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      The answer at the moment has to be NO!!!

      Let's be honest all people want to do is plug in and go. At the moment that is just not possible for most customers!!!!

      They don't want to spend half their life waiting on the phone (at premium rates) to Sky only to be fobbed off with............we don't know.....please call back in 48 hours......it's BT you need to ring them (sorry that's your job).....we'll call you back in 48 hours (knowing they won't) .......and so on.

      The way Sky are handling this situation at the moment is disgusting. The only place people can actually get proper help is forums like this and that's if they're lucky enough to still have web access after their migration gets cocked up. Then there's the problems with the dodgy supplied hardware to contend with when they finally get connected.

      When it works it works well but Sky need publicly to come out and admit they have problems and tell people what they are doing about them.....

      SILENCE IS NOT GOLDEN AND JUST NOT ACCEPTABLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION