Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    View Poll Results: Do you have problems blocking site with the Sky router

    Voters
    6. You may not vote on this poll
    • 1. I have no problem and can block any site I wish

      3 50.00%
    • 2. I can block some sites but not others

      1 16.67%
    • 3. I cannot block any sites

      2 33.33%
    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Blocking sites with router

    This is a discussion on Blocking sites with router within the Polls forums, part of the Website news category; This is a poll to find out if there is a widespread problem with blocking sites using the Sky routers. ...

    1. #1
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Blocking sites with router

      This is a poll to find out if there is a widespread problem with blocking sites using the Sky routers.

      If you answer 2, please name your router and the sites you are unable to block
      If you answer 3.Please name your router.

      I have just realised that the above info is useless if you don't also include the number your voted for, so please include it with your post.
      Last edited by Isitme; 04-08-09 at 02:55 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      paulcarrm9mx's Avatar
      paulcarrm9mx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      757
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: Blocking sites with router

      white V1 sky firmware

    4. #3
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Blocking sites with router

      Netgear V2

      Facebook, and lots of keywords, although other work... Very sporadic...

      Mike

    5. #4
      mrplatypus's Avatar
      mrplatypus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Forge Way, Cwmbran
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Cwmbran
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Blocking sites with router

      White Netgear DG834T, I cannot block ANY sites (3)

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Blocking sites with router

      iirc The V1 router has always had an issue blocking sites.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Blocking sites with router

      iirc The V1 router has always had an issue blocking sites.
      That is the strange thing, mine seems to work perfectly, but others who need it can't get it to work. I am using CU firmware.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Focus2000's Avatar
      Focus2000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Blocking sites with router

      DG834GT - tried adding the router login ip (i want to block it except for trusted ip), search for it in google, up pops the blocked page, type it in the url and up pops the router login dialogue.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Blocking sites with router

      Sorry for the late reply, but if you want to restrict access to the router, isn't it easier to change the login password to a secure one known only to you?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION