Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 35

    emule help pls!

    This is a discussion on emule help pls! within the P2P / File sharing forums, part of the General chat category; i have opened the ports on the network connection part of things. I have done so on the router but ...

    1. #1
      rude1978's Avatar
      rude1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cherry hinton (cambridge)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      emule help pls!

      i have opened the ports on the network connection part of things. I have done so on the router but im not sure for definantly I have done this right.
      The test connection within emule are giving me the all clear but the downloads just do not download!

      please help me very much appriciated!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Disillusioned's Avatar
      Disillusioned is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton Bristol
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      North Bristol
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Have you opened the ports in the router as well?
      ~Computing today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning~

    4. #3
      Disillusioned's Avatar
      Disillusioned is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton Bristol
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      North Bristol
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Emule uses the following ports: 4662, 4672,4661 & 4665 in both TCP and UDP and also 4711 in just TCP. Make sure that all of the ports are open in both the router and your firewall.
      ~Computing today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning~

    5. #4
      rude1978's Avatar
      rude1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cherry hinton (cambridge)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for the quick reply.
      But still no luck! I opened ports both on comp and the router. Just does not seem to happen despite getting the all clear from emule!??

    6. #5
      rude1978's Avatar
      rude1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cherry hinton (cambridge)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      update:
      good news, some downloads haved started
      bad news, they are running at between 1 to 10kb/s!!

      gettin there slowly, but anything I can do to speed things up?
      thanks

    7. #6
      Shooty*'s Avatar
      Shooty* is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: emule help pls!

      Hi there,
      First time poster, have found this forum quite handy recently since getting connected to Sky. I was previously with SeriouslyInternet who were great, but they changed their pricing structure.

      ANYWAY... I've been a contributor at the Emule users forum for quite a while now under the username of lawboy, and have been encountering Emule problems recently.

      I am using a Belkin router which did me proud with Seriously, and now works with sky. Say no more on that.

      Uploads and downloads have been affected. I have found, SO FAR, that two things to do are: 1. enable obfuscation in your options panel. It's in security. Have a look for it.

      2. In extended options, lower the max new connections per second thing to about 10. If that doesn't work, lower it to 9, etc. If they work, increase until it stops working. Basically, find something stable for yourself.

      This last one mainly seems to keep the uploads stabe for me. I have achieved DL speeds of about 30 kbps, which is tiny compared to the Seriously stats I used to get.

      People are mentioning RC4 encryption... I don't know if that is the same as obfuscation.

      Perhaps switching to Max is the way forward? Or I should wait until my 10 day initial period expires?

    8. #7
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: emule help pls!

      Connect has a 10 day "training period" during which speed will go up and down while the best line speed is worked out.

      It seems you must put up with this until after the 10 days. Then, if the speed is still slow, we can try and help.

    9. #8
      Shooty*'s Avatar
      Shooty* is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: emule help pls!

      10 days up... speed fantastic.

      Very strange. but happy.

    10. #9
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: emule help pls!

      Shooty, Even after your 10Days, Connect has P2P Traffic Management, So it wont be much different after the training period, It will most likely be stabler at one speed!

      All the LLU products, Mid, Base, Max dont have Traffic Management!

    11. #10
      Shooty*'s Avatar
      Shooty* is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: emule help pls!

      Oh. Right. Well, all I know is that I was stuggling to maintain 15 kbps upload and 25 kbps download in any stable format the day before yesterday, and I'm now running 120kbps downloads and 16 k upload quite happily.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION