Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 76

    Annoying problem with bit torrent

    This is a discussion on Annoying problem with bit torrent within the P2P / File sharing forums, part of the General chat category; Thanks alot for the advice people haha...

    1. #21
      Listy's Avatar
      Listy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks alot for the advice people haha
      Last edited by Listy; 02-11-06 at 07:43 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Are you sure that the advice given wasnt from a women in disguise

    4. #23
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      ive not seen anniebrion post
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    5. #24
      EviL AnGeL's Avatar
      EviL AnGeL is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      This is not a problem with your extension or connection. I'm having the exact same problem but it only started today. Whenever Azureus is running I can't access sites or email through outlook express. As soon as I shut Azureus down everythings back to normal.

      Azureus speeds are also very slow. I think this is something Sky are doing to eliminate or throttle P2P.

    6. #25
      Adds's Avatar
      Adds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      im having this problem too but with uTorrent my speeds are always up to 20kbps and i know i can get faster cause with rapidshare i got 700kbps

      i had fast speeds when i was orange i got to my max on bittorrent which was 250kbps alot of the time with them

      i tryed using the McAfee firewall and all it done was not even let me on the internet

    7. #26
      Listy's Avatar
      Listy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hey guys ive just finished moving my pc downstairs and setting it up. Anyway im sad to report that the orignal problem is still here. Im now plugged into the master socket and im not useing any extention leads and all the phone sockets have microfilters plugged directly into them.



      System Up Time 00:15:16
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 10232 11648 0 2213 9360 00:14:48
      LAN 10M/100M 11911 10533 0 9485 2445 00:15:14
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4576 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.2 db 20.0 db

    8. #27
      EviL AnGeL's Avatar
      EviL AnGeL is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Listy how much bandwidth have you used roughly this month. I'm thinking this could be Sky throttling P2P because I could be close to 40GB and I'm getting the same thing. If it is Sky it's a pretty crappy way of going about limiting downloads.

    9. #28
      Listy's Avatar
      Listy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      id say ive used no more than half of my 40 gig limmit. But im just chatting to my friend and hes on the max package and hes reporting the same when useing bit torrent as well.

    10. #29
      EviL AnGeL's Avatar
      EviL AnGeL is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Something is definately going on at Sky. This only started today for me and I've been playing around trying to get it to work. Deleting the firewall exceptions and service I created for Azureus in the router setup allows me to browse and have azurues running at the same time again. But it's still running very, very slow and my emails still won't work through outlook.

    11. #30
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well we have not heard anything or are currently aware of any throttling being done by us nor traffic shaping or port blocking etc etc.

      I shall look into this next week when im in, have you tried a diffrent client ? and setting it up to use diffrent ports, and you have allowed these ports in the firewall settings in the router aswell?

     

     
    Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION