Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Got a "spare" O2 Wireless Box II and wondering what to do with it?

    This is a discussion on Got a "spare" O2 Wireless Box II and wondering what to do with it? within the O2 / Be Customer Information forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; If you're an ex O2 customer and still have their router sitting in a cupboard somewhere unused, you can resurrect ...

    1. #1
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Got a "spare" O2 Wireless Box II and wondering what to do with it?

      If you're an ex O2 customer and still have their router sitting in a cupboard somewhere unused, you can resurrect it with a firmware change.

      In its normal O2 state the O2 firmware doesn't have options for PPPoA username and password making it effectively useless for using with another ISP. However, if you download and flash the firmware* to the version offered on the BE site (Firmware for Thomson 585V7) you'll now have access to those all important settings.

      HTH


      * As usual, do at your own risk etc - you may end up with a bricked router. Don't do this if you have been migrated across from O2 to Sky and continue to use the O2 supplied router.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dnpark38's Avatar
      dnpark38 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Leeds City Region
      Posts
      249
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Got a "spare" O2 Wireless Box II and wondering what to do with it?

      Interesting I have 3 different Be boxes now not in use are they usable with or with out that Be software you quote?
      What use are they?
      I think after about last November when Sky did an upgrade to them for use on Sky they were never the same.

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,078
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Got a "spare" O2 Wireless Box II and wondering what to do with it?

      I do not know if the firmware updates sent to the O2 and Be routers include some of the modules which have been added to the Sky routers over the past couple of years. If so you won't actually see much visible evidence.

      Such updates include:


      • Improved DLM which also communicates with the router to improve things
      • IPv6


      For the DLM improvements search G.INP on this forum. I don't know at this point if this has been previously added or just added to the Be/O2 routers. If it has then you'll benefit from a better ADSL connection.

      IPv6 support has recently been added to the most recent 3 of Sky's routers. It may also have been added to the 4th (Sagem 2304n). At the present time we know nothing more about what Sky intends to do with regards to IPv6.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Got a "spare" O2 Wireless Box II and wondering what to do with it?

      Unlike the O2 firmware, the BE Thomson 585V7 appears generic and has no branding. Whether it has any Sky related hidden elements I've no idea but I suspect not.

      For clarity, as I said in the first post, the 585V7 firmware may be of interest to someone (like me) who has an O2 Wireless Box II sitting in a cupboard with original firmware and never used.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Got a "spare" O2 Wireless Box II and wondering what to do with it?

      This may be the reason exO2 users were advised to return their router to factory default before setting up with Sky. It gives access to the PPPoA settings.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION