Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    bethere to sky

    This is a discussion on bethere to sky within the O2 / Be Customer Information forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; on bethere.... was connecting via llu ... (isp's own equipment) transferred to sky 20th feb (letter arrived 20th feb after ...

    1. #1
      ukgeoff's Avatar
      ukgeoff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester East
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: netgear 834n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Location
      manchester
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      bethere to sky

      on bethere.... was connecting via llu... (isp's own equipment)
      transferred to sky 20th feb (letter arrived 20th feb after my network had gone off) telling me to expect disruption... on the 20th


      now connected via ppp0a......... (bt's equipment?)
      why dont sky connect you like for like...?? ( BT exchange is enabled for sky llu )

      seems a bit more flaky (dropouts/ noise margin problems) although there is a training period I presume....
      never had one issue with bethere....


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,945
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: bethere to sky

      ppp0a dosent mean you are connected to Bt equipment. Sky LLU kit uses ppp0a.
      Suggest you give Sky a call and tell them about your woa's.
      I have been with Sky broadband for 8 years on LLU and had very few problems so your situation is not typical.

    4. #3
      ukgeoff's Avatar
      ukgeoff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester East
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: netgear 834n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Location
      manchester
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: bethere to sky

      Quote Originally Posted by Koala5 View Post
      ppp0a dosent mean you are connected to Bt equipment. Sky LLU kit uses ppp0a.
      Suggest you give Sky a call and tell them about your woa's.
      I have been with Sky broadband for 8 years on LLU and had very few problems so your situation is not typical.
      i did.... the customer support didn't know what ping and latency was..... also said there was a fault on the line... (previous x number of years..worked perfectly...so on friday... a bt eng arrived unannounced.. wanting to install a new telephone line...wtf.....

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,945
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: bethere to sky

      Sounds like there has been some confusion, maybe he was supposed to diagnose the line fault rather than install a new one. What did he end up doing?
      Think you will need to ring again and try to get to the bottom of things.

    6. #5
      ukgeoff's Avatar
      ukgeoff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester East
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: netgear 834n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Location
      manchester
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: bethere to sky

      Quote Originally Posted by Koala5 View Post
      Sounds like there has been some confusion, maybe he was supposed to diagnose the line fault rather than install a new one. What did he end up doing?
      Think you will need to ring again and try to get to the bottom of things.
      nothing..... because it was very early in the morning.... no appointment or anything..so i sent him on his way....
      there is no fault.. and the odds of it developing at the precise moment of line activation... more chance of winning the lottery...

      ill leave it a few days..see if it settles down...but the ping issue..i suspect will stay judging by other user posts...

      quick ed..just to add...packet loss on team speak as well..... thats something new as well...

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: bethere to sky

      ALL ADSL lines when first connected to Sky's kit start off at around 4096kbps. A long line might connect at a slower speed though.

      DLM will be monitoring your line and building a picture of the quality of it.

      Then after around 3-4 days it will start changing your connection speed.

      This initial profiling will take anything from a few days up to 10 days normally, although in some rare cases it can take longer.

      During this time your pings and latency will not necessarily reflect what it will be when DLM has completed.

      This should have been explained in the letter you recieved, although I doubt it would mention about Ping and Latency.

      For most people on Sky a ping of around 28-40ms is normal. If you require a ping of say 10-11ms, then sign up to Sky Fibre. You'll also get a better upload speed with Fibre.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      ukgeoff's Avatar
      ukgeoff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester East
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: netgear 834n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Location
      manchester
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: bethere to sky

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      ALL ADSL lines when first connected to Sky's kit start off at around 4096kbps. A long line might connect at a slower speed though.

      DLM will be monitoring your line and building a picture of the quality of it.

      Then after around 3-4 days it will start changing your connection speed.

      This initial profiling will take anything from a few days up to 10 days normally, although in some rare cases it can take longer.

      During this time your pings and latency will not necessarily reflect what it will be when DLM has completed.

      This should have been explained in the letter you recieved, although I doubt it would mention about Ping and Latency.

      For most people on Sky a ping of around 28-40ms is normal. If you require a ping of say 10-11ms, then sign up to Sky Fibre. You'll also get a better upload speed with Fibre.
      long line... yes..mines long.. max 5mb...connect at 4.5 so thats fair enough..
      how is the exchange connection done - llu? (normally this is to the isp's own equipment and not bt's wholesale..
      letter.... i received letter through royal mail.... 3 hours + after the swap over started...
      yes ..i know about dlm....... but experiencing packet loss on teamspeak..(anything over 10% and it total breakup) and noise on the line..something i have never experienced with bethere...
      running winmtr..and it shows some surprising ms spikes/packet loss...... congestion at peak times..oversubscribed?


      fibre....?..dont have it to the NTU im connected up with..
      regards

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: bethere to sky

      Sky's main problem seems to be that the 'pipes' out of the exchange are not big enough, not that the exchange itself is congested. With an LLU exchange congestion is not really possible, there are a limited number of connections on Sky's equipment and these cannot be exceeded. Sky's lack of capacity on their output pipes first became apparent when they introduced Anytime+, which greatly increase the bandwidth required. They are gradually working their way through all their exchanges updating the output cables. Until they are all done there are going to be problems. Unfortunately when they are all upgraded, no doubt the consumption of bandwidth will keep increasing meaning more requirement for upgrades and the vicious circle will begin again.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      ukgeoff's Avatar
      ukgeoff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester East
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: netgear 834n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Location
      manchester
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: bethere to sky

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Sky's main problem seems to be that the 'pipes' out of the exchange are not big enough, not that the exchange itself is congested. With an LLU exchange congestion is not really possible, there are a limited number of connections on Sky's equipment and these cannot be exceeded. Sky's lack of capacity on their output pipes first became apparent when they introduced Anytime+, which greatly increase the bandwidth required. They are gradually working their way through all their exchanges updating the output cables. Until they are all done there are going to be problems. Unfortunately when they are all upgraded, no doubt the consumption of bandwidth will keep increasing meaning more requirement for upgrades and the vicious circle will begin again.
      so in effect..your saying that any provider without the 'tv/media download services' should be better than sky BB esp at peak times........ (there goes my missus again on coro catchup...)

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: bethere to sky

      Sky are keeping up with updating the backhaul network to carry the extra traffic that has been generated.

      Whilst a specific exchange or two will have a problem, Sky generally get it fixed within 2-4 months.

      Where this is a problem, as a forum we can help to identify it and check with the bods at Sky. A few of the members have access to a private forum and can ask. Alternatively a customer can phone Sky's customer services to get the same information.

      What we try to do though is to confirm by way of a on-line monitor that the issue is a backhaul issue as not all of the issues are.

      As for what you are connected to, this should indeed be Sky's LLU kit. Alternatively you may be connected via WLR3. To check dial 17070. If you get Zoe, then you are on SVBN and full LLU. If you get BT's line checker, then you are not and cold be on WLR3.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      ukgeoff (23-02-14)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION