Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 41
    Like Tree3Likes

    O2 wireless box 5 - no adsl2plus

    This is a discussion on O2 wireless box 5 - no adsl2plus within the O2 / Be Customer Information forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have recently been moved from O2 to Sky. My router menu on o2 Wirelss Box 5 now shows connected ...

    1. #1
      cgoldman's Avatar
      cgoldman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2013
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      O2 wireless box 5 - no adsl2plus

      I have recently been moved from O2 to Sky. My router menu on o2 Wirelss Box 5 now shows connected as ADSL and not ADSL2PLUS with a consequent reduction in bandwidth.

      Any other o2 wireless box 5 or IV users notice this?

      It seems Sky is using PPP0A and I think o2 routers are set to require IPOE for ADSL2PLUS.

      CAn anyone confirm please?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: O2 wireless box 5 - no adsl2plus

      Another member is having some issues with their router and we suspect that this is the case too:

      O2 router with Sky Line Rental & BB?

      You should be able to use your O2 connection details on Sky's ADSL2+ connection without any issues.

      P.S. I've moved your post to the same section to make it easier to find yours on this topic.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      byzantium53's Avatar
      byzantium53 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: O2 wireless box 5 - no adsl2plus

      Yes I have the same issue. Returned home last week to no internet connection at all. Had to log on to O2 box and connect to ASDL, asdl2plus seems stuck trying to connect. Speeds seem slower than before as well. What's happening ?

    5. #4
      cgoldman's Avatar
      cgoldman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2013
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: O2 wireless box 5 - no adsl2plus

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Another member is having some issues with their router and we suspect that this is the case too:

      O2 router with Sky Line Rental & BB?

      You should be able to use your O2 connection details on Sky's ADSL2+ connection without any issues.

      P.S. I've moved your post to the same section to make it easier to find yours on this topic.
      Not sure what you mean by using your o2 connection details, since both boxes are hard coded with connection login and password and the SKy router cannot be changed to reflect the O2 details. I am using the Sky router and the bandwidth is significantly reduced whilst no fault has been found on my line.

    6. #5
      davews's Avatar
      davews is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: O2 wireless box 5 - no adsl2plus

      Many are getting confused by this. The Sky network will ALWAYS use the 'ADSL' connection in O2 boxes as this is the only one that has the correct configurations for Sky. The ADSL2PLUS connection will certainly not work. They are using a fluke that the old O2 Access settings happen to be fully compatible with Sky. But despite the name the 'ADSL' settings will connect as ADSL2+ on a good line - my 8Mbs connection usually stays on ADSL but has now and again connected as ADSL2+. It does seem that those of us with lines that are stable around 8Mbs connect as ADSL whereas on O2 they would always connect as ADSL2+.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: O2 wireless box 5 - no adsl2plus

      Quote Originally Posted by davews View Post
      ...They are using a fluke that the old O2 Access settings happen to be fully compatible with Sky.
      Sky had to specifically update their kit to allow both ex-Be and ex-O2 customers to use their own routers on the Sky network.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      cgoldman's Avatar
      cgoldman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2013
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: O2 wireless box 5 - no adsl2plus

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Sky had to specifically update their kit to allow both ex-Be and ex-O2 customers to use their own routers on the Sky network.
      Such information could be useful but alas I dont follow. Sky router on Sky network worked before sky acquired o2 customers. O2 customer after the acquisition and after the 'effective date' could use their O2 router or could use the Sky router. Why would a sky router need to be updated for O2 customers. I understand Sky router has its own login and password and according to sky because of the set up, connects to SKY equipment. But I do not understand why a router would need to be updated. When you use a Sky router you are no longer connecting through O2 equipment (according to SKY). SO an ex O2 customer moving to SKY using a SKY router should be no different to a pre existing SKY user. Hence why I donot understand.

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,377
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: O2 wireless box 5 - no adsl2plus

      ex-o2 customers can continue to their old o2 router if they want
      Scubbie likes this.
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      beneix's Avatar
      beneix is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: O2 Wireless Box II (Thomson TG585v7)
      Sky TV: Not on Sky TV
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: O2 wireless box 5 - no adsl2plus

      I was migrated on Tuesday. Having previously connected via ADSL2+ on O2, syncing at ~16Mbps and getting ~13Mbps, my router now tells me I am connecting via G.992.1 annex A, syncing at 9Mbps and getting close to the full sync speed.

      Sky support are telling me that (in spite of the router saying G.992.1) I am connected via ADSL2+ (!) and that I will have to go through the 10-day training period...which I think is pointless.

      Surely I should be able to get 13 MBps via Sky if I was getting it via O2? Or is the Sky exchange equipment not as capable as O2's?
      Last edited by beneix; 23-01-14 at 11:44 AM. Reason: typo

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: O2 wireless box 5 - no adsl2plus

      I would suggest that Sky's LLU kit is more capable than the kit which O2 had.

      O2 didn't expand into Fibre Broadband, where Sky have. Sky have had to update their kit to support this.

      Each ISP uses different profiles. These are a closely guarded secret and basically every connection is put into the best profile band for their line.

      O2 liked to give their customers a good upload speed. Sky's priority is for a stable connection. I don't have information about the other ISPs.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION