Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Phone line with BT

    This is a discussion on Phone line with BT within the O2 / Be Customer Information forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've been with 02 Broadband for 3 years and happily run it on my BT line. Am I right in ...

    1. #1
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,377
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Question Phone line with BT

      I've been with 02 Broadband for 3 years and happily run it on my BT line. Am I right in assuming Sky are going to force me to go with their line rental if I want to 'stay' with Sky?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,456
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Phone line with BT

      There are still some legacy Sky broadband customers who pay line rental to BT. I would expect there to be some transitional arrangements for customers arriving from Be/O2 though what form these will take we are still waiting to find out.

    4. #3
      youravinalarrrf's Avatar
      youravinalarrrf is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: MYBD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      327
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone line with BT

      It's just one of many obvious questions which to me seem to remain deliberately unanswered by either O2 or Sky and whilst it stays that way sets alarm bells ringing for me.

      See point 2 here O2 and Be Broadband - sale to Sky Q&A updated 5th March :: O2 :: think broadband and here O2 | Home Broadband | Important news about your O2 Home Broadband

      I'm just waiting for my BT annual line rental payment to run out in July then I will be just one amongst many jumping ship from both BT (line rental) and O2 (broadband) to Plusnet.

      I have finally just got rid of Sky TV and there's no way I will be going back to Sky for either broadband or phone.

      I left Sky for a reason and I'm afraid for me it's once bitten twice shy!

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Phone line with BT

      This is still a little academic everyone. Sky and Telephonica need to sign the paperwork off, after the regulators have given the green light.

      I also seem to remember the original announcement saying that you would be able to continue using your own routers. This indicates that there is a little more underneath this agreement than what they are letting everyone know.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,377
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Phone line with BT

      Just following up on this. I'm still with O2 AFAIK, and I have a contract with BT so Sky surely can't just take ownership of the line without our consent, correct?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Phone line with BT

      If your contract is with BT, as opposed to BT through O2, then you should get the choice of whether to keep your rental with BT or move to Sky's SVBN. If your contract is actually with O2, that is in a bit of a grey area. You would have to ask Sky what the position is.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Phone line with BT

      I also thought that Sky only make you take their line rental if you are moving to fibre.

    9. #8
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,456
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Phone line with BT

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Just following up on this. I'm still with O2 AFAIK, and I have a contract with BT so Sky surely can't just take ownership of the line without our consent, correct?
      If you dial 151 do you get a recorded announcement stating: "Hello. Thanks for calling BT"?

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Phone line with BT

      Quote Originally Posted by mattan View Post
      I also thought that Sky only make you take their line rental if you are moving to fibre.
      If you transfer your connection to Sky Broadband then you will also need to transfer your line rental too.

      However, for those who were with O2, I would suggest that if you leave things as they are you will be alrght. It is only those who actually take on Sky Broadband with a new Sky Hub who will find that the telephone line and broadband are moved to Sky.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Phone line with BT

      Quote Originally Posted by mattan View Post
      I also thought that Sky only make you take their line rental if you are moving to fibre.
      No, new ADSL users have been obliged to take Sky rental for some time now. There are some old users who have the legacy right to stay with BT if they wish.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION