Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 31
    Like Tree1Likes

    Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

    This is a discussion on Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone? within the O2 / Be Customer Information forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm wondering if any of you in the past changed from Be (or maybe O2) to Sky Broadband and home ...

    1. #1
      dnpark38's Avatar
      dnpark38 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Leeds City Region
      Posts
      249
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      I'm wondering if any of you in the past changed from Be (or maybe O2) to Sky Broadband and home phone? Is it better, same or worse? I have Be Unlimited broadband with a speed of 13Mb, anytime phone, line rental which averages 23 per month over the past 14 months. I have looked recently when I was considering a move at Sky website which told me I would be lower speed and higher cost. Now I'm told by Be they are selling me to Sky, does not look a happy future.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      I have, but mine wasn't a standard migration.

      I used to have 2 lines coming into my house so migrated from a C&W reseller to SKY on that line due to wanting anytime+ along with 6 months free made it worth while.

      I kept my BE on the 2nd line for about 6months after which Sky FTTC became available in my area so I upgraded my Sky Line to FTTC and then we cancelled the other line which had the BE on it.

      Running them both side by side for a while I can note the following.

      Be's latency was usually better than skys ADSL but the FTTC is even lower.
      Be offered static IP's which I miss
      Be offered Annex M (Faster upload vs Sky's ADSL)

      Skys service was more stable (I think that was more down to the other line having intermittent noise issues)
      Sky had far less routing issues.
      The sky router is a steaming pile of plop.... But then so was the BE supplied one. But that doesn't bother me as I use my own.

      The only thing I really miss is the Static IP and even then it's not that much of a problem.

    4. #3
      RJM's Avatar
      RJM
      RJM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Weybridge
      Broadband ISP: Now PlusNet
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Freeview
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      I transferred from Be to Sky LLU with no problem.

      I have long line and the fastest connection was with Be - it, dropped by about 12% when I transferred to Sky LLU. I was with Sky for just over two years and the connection was solid apart for one 24hr period when there was a fault in the exchange.

      Really, can't fault Sky's service - never had reason to contact them.

    5. #4
      launton's Avatar
      launton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LVROY (Liverpool Royal)
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-N66U
      Sky TV: Humax HDR-1000S
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      115
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      I moved from Be* to SKY and the initial connection was slower due to not being able to adjust the snr myself in user profiles (Like Be*). However a friendly call got me to 16meg (previously 19 on a 3db snr with Be*) but this didn't really make a major difference. I was used to Be* helping with tweaks and it did feel weird not having the same interest from SKY, but I got used to it. Moved to FTTC as soon as I could anyway and am happy with them as an ISP on the whole.

    6. #5
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: vodafone supafast 2
      Router: vodafone isp router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      loved the bit were he said pile of plop hahaha lol

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      loved the bit were he said pile of plop hahaha lol
      What was that old saying ....oh yes - Simple things please simple minds.


    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      Now there was a group

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      These are more applicable to our good friend DM





      SatDish likes this.


    10. #9
      unimatrix1's Avatar
      unimatrix1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mercury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      I changed from Be ADSL to sky fibre 40mbps, I can honestly say sky is far better than my previous isp where I was getting only just short of 2mbps but then again im paying for this service at extra cost and thats the only thing I liked about Be was the customer service and offers they gave you like they offered me 6 months free and also a reduced fee to stay with them for another 12 months, I had been with Be Unlimited for 5 years and was getting fed up of not having the latest fibre connection so push come to shove and im glad ive changed now to sky fibre. I am currently still in the 10 day settling period and getting average 33-35mbps on speed tests hopefully it will even out soon enough and then average around 37-39mbps

    11. #10
      francisuk22's Avatar
      francisuk22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWMIL / Mill Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2013
      Location
      Edgware
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      Quote Originally Posted by dragon2611 View Post
      The only thing I really miss is the Static IP and even then it's not that much of a problem.
      Thats the reason why my Dad went with BE, Because of the Static IP for hes CCTV system so he can look when hes on route (lorry driver)

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION