Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 31
    Like Tree1Likes

    Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

    This is a discussion on Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone? within the O2 / Be Customer Information forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; There is no charge for moving from one DSL provider to another. What there is a charge for is moving ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      There is no charge for moving from one DSL provider to another. What there is a charge for is moving from DSL to a Cable provider. This is made by BTO for removing the DSL connections in the exchange and is payable by the user but can be waived.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      There is no charge for moving from one DSL provider to another. What there is a charge for is moving from DSL to a Cable provider. This is made by BTO for removing the DSL connections in the exchange and is payable by the user but can be waived.
      Actually there is but the larger providers tend to absorb it as part of the costs of acquiring new business,

      That's why quite a lot of the smaller providers charge a migration fee/connection fee, In a lot of cases they're not doing it to rip people off or to be greedy it's simply they cannot afford to absorb these costs in the way the bigger providers do so end up passing at least some of the Openreach charges on to the end user.

    4. #23
      rm113's Avatar
      rm113 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ely
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      Well, I tried to call on Sunday but they were very busy so I sent an email via the Website.

      I got a reply this morning from someone who had obviously not read the email with the usual suggestions, such as changing the wireless channel.

      The call centre is more busy today, not even letting me queue. I'll try again later.

      Can regulars suggest when is the optimal time to call in to get help?

    5. #24
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      I do wish some people would read properly what they send out in emails.

      Personally I hate it when people copy & paste answers, especially when you know that a bureaucrat has got at them

      Quote Originally Posted by rm113 View Post
      Can regulars suggest when is the optimal time to call in to get help?
      Sadly this is unusual. There was a systems crash last week and the call centres are still struggling as a direct result. Try a little later at random times. Avoid the Lunch break period as many people will be calling then and it is likely to be 'silly' waiting times.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #25
      rm113's Avatar
      rm113 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ely
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      Got through to someone very helpful and personable at 11.30. She ran some tests but everything came up 'green'. She left things running for a couple of hours and then called me back. She's passed it on to the Technical Team but I imagine that they won't be in a position to do much.

      So it looks like it is official - Sky is only 80% as good as Be Unlimited. Perhaps it is deliberate in areas where the backhaul is already full to not strain it further. Who knows?

    7. #26
      rm113's Avatar
      rm113 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ely
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      Well, I've had a line bounce last week and things have changed. So historically:

      With Be I had:
      Link Down: 4836k, Up: 1018k
      Attentuation: 51.5 dB, 29.9 dB
      Margin: 8.8 db, 9.3 dB

      With Sky (after my 10 days, on the 25th of July), I had:
      Link Rate: 4094k , 798
      Attentuation: 55.0, 32.7
      Margin: 2.3, 12.12

      Now, with Sky, I have:
      Link Rate: 4818, 798
      Attenuation: 53.0, 32.2
      Margin: 7.3, 12.12

      So, I'm effectively back to the Be levels for downstream but still 20% short on upstream.

    8. #27
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      Quote Originally Posted by rm113 View Post

      So, I'm effectively back to the Be levels for downstream but still 20% short on upstream.

      Historically Be always used fastpath on the Upstream, but most other providers would also apply interleaving in both directions.

    9. #28
      dnpark38's Avatar
      dnpark38 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Leeds City Region
      Posts
      249
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      Now got my migration date from Be phone, line and broadband to Sky Fibre unlimited, Talk any time and line rent.
      All 3 will be next Wednesday, those of you that have gone through migration can you advise me what I should expect the order to be and any down time?
      Sky hub received with instruction for self install.
      Thanks
      David

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      Difficult to say. If all goes well it will go through without a hitch. If someone has messed up somewhere it could be a nightmare. Let's hope you experience the former.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #30
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Anyone changed from Be to Sky Broadband and Phone?

      Typically for most the switch goes through without any issues. This being the case your broadband will probably be down for around 30minutes to a couple of hours.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION