Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Software Update broken!!

    This is a discussion on Software Update broken!! within the Mac users forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi Great forum with lots of useful info, but surprisingly I couldn't find anyone else with this problem!! New Sky ...

    1. #1
      ukchris's Avatar
      ukchris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Software Update broken!!

      Hi

      Great forum with lots of useful info, but surprisingly I couldn't find anyone else with this problem!!

      New Sky BB user - got a problem (no surprises there then). Plugged the router in to my parents eMac via the supplied yellow (Cat5?) cable and connection was instant!. Also had my macbook and that connected wirelessly with no probs - so far, excellent.

      EMac needed serious updating, connected to Software Update which identified the 9 updates required, but failed to download any of them!! After several refresh attempts it managed to download 2 of them but will not get the rest. Tried navigating to the dowloads page on the apple main website, same problem, will not download the updates. tried on my macbook, same poor result (tried when I got home (BB with TalkTalk), downloaded no problem. (eMac on sky BB will connect to eBay which I have read can be a problem)

      OK, so must be a Sky/router specific problem...any ideas?

      Will going wireless help? or do I need to move the router to the master phone socket (currently on an extension). Shame as I will have to get a wireless adapter for the eMac then

      Plus - need to set up VNC so I can troubleshoot for my folks from home. Vine server and COTVNC works fine internally (macbook controlled eMac fine when at my parents and both were on Sky network). What do I need to do to gain access over www - My guess from trawling the net is I need to set up port forwarding? - again, all assistance gratefully received.

      Thanks guys!

      Chris


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Software Update broken!!

      it wont be skybb's fault as u are connected or the router ?

    4. #3
      ukchris's Avatar
      ukchris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Re: Software Update broken!!

      OK - as I've ruled out eMac error not sure what it would be - as you're certain it's not the router or Sky what do you think it is?

    5. #4
      Beephe's Avatar
      Beephe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEDL Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Darlington
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Software Update broken!!

      I have know Idea why software update doesn't work - it works fine for me
      i
      Mac 20"
      G5 2.16Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
      OSX 10.4.9



    6. #5
      bouncer's Avatar
      bouncer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      sussex
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Software Update broken!!

      Could be problem with faulty line filter. Had same problem with windows box via talktalk. Would only download 2 or 3 updates then stall. Have you tried downloading large files eg >100MB

    7. #6
      ukchris's Avatar
      ukchris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Software Update broken!!

      It was a location problem - as soon as I moved the router to the 'incoming' socket rather than an extensoin it worked perfectly. Thanks for your suggestion though.

      C.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION