Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Losing Connection To A Particular Site

    This is a discussion on Losing Connection To A Particular Site within the Mac users forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I was using Chrome to access a site, then I get a message to say I have lost connection with ...

    1. #1
      wolfiebrian's Avatar
      wolfiebrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Losing Connection To A Particular Site

      I was using Chrome to access a site, then I get a message to say I have lost connection with the site. The site then throws me out, when I try to log back in again, it says I have the wrong password (I haven't)

      I keep trying and it finally lets me in then I get the same problem

      I try Firefox and it just hangs. When I check with the guys who run the site they say the problem is my end and they don't have any server or technical issues.

      Their response was
      It could be because you need to delete the cache memory on your Firefox browser and log back in.

      The site actually loads, so why am I losing connection, (the internet is running still as I can access other sites)

      Thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Losing Connection To A Particular Site

      Try deleting the caches as recommended
      In Chrome

      • Click on the Chrome menu on the browser toolbar.
      • Select Tools.
      • Select Clear browsing data.
      • A dialogue window will appear, providing you with a list of checkboxes for the types of information that you wish to have removed.

      In Firefox

      • From the History menu, select Clear Recent History. ...
      • From the Time range to clear: drop-down menu, select the desired range; to clear your entire cache, select Everything.
      • Next to "Details", click the down arrow to choose which elements of the history to clear.

      Just in case one of your add ons is causing the problem, try starting in Safe Mode.
      In firefox
      1. Click the menu button ,
      2. click help and select Restart with Add-ons Disabled....
      3. Firefox will start up with the Firefox Safe Mode dialog.

      In Chrome
      1. Launch the Google Chrome browser.

      2. Click the "Menu" icon in the toolbar.

      3. Click "New Incognito Window" to open Chrome in Incognito mode with your extensions disabled. Chrome continues to run normally in the first window.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      wolfiebrian's Avatar
      wolfiebrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing Connection To A Particular Site

      I have done this, I have cleared the cache, I log back into the site, it works for five minutes then it loses connection.

      I have swapped over to Safari, same problem there.

      Really weird, it's like something or someone doesn't want me to use the site.

      One browser yes, but when the problem is with three all doing the same, and they say there is no technical issues at their side.

      My only other thought was server poisoning, or the dns. I use OpenDNS.

      Another thought, I only had this problem after I installed Avast for the Mac.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Losing Connection To A Particular Site

      I only had this problem after I installed Avast for the Mac.
      That is a clue. The latest version of Avast for Windows caused some problems, it is quite possible it is the same with the Mac version. Try turning off the active shields one at a time to see if one of them is the culprit. The Home Network Security shield was what caused the problems in Windows.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      wolfiebrian's Avatar
      wolfiebrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing Connection To A Particular Site

      Thank you very much for your time and assistance, I will do this, process of elimination

      I have found the company on Facebook and sent them a message, they were quite helpful

      Hi Brian, we'll ask the technical team to investigate this and we will get back to you via email as soon as possible. All we need is for you to send a message with your username.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION