Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Understanding Airport

    This is a discussion on Understanding Airport within the Mac users forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I think thats where I am going wrong, I only have the yellow cable connected from router to computer, I ...

    1. #11
      wolfie34's Avatar
      wolfie34 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Understanding Airport

      I think thats where I am going wrong, I only have the yellow cable connected from router to computer, I thought airport automatically worked, I didn't realize I needed an additional cable.

      Oh and how do I change it from Holland to UK?

      Thanks for your patience and assistance!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Understanding Airport

      Apple does confuse people with it's naming - Airport is the name of it's wifi system on Macs and so you'd think that you'd need to use Airport Utility to connect ... but you don't, Airport Utility is to install and admin Apple's own Airport wifi router.

      Plug your Mac directly into your Netgear router to change it's wifi settings and go through what has previously been suggested to get you Mac running on wifi. When that's working we can look at connecting via the Apple router if you have one.

    4. #13
      wolfie34's Avatar
      wolfie34 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Understanding Airport

      Still getting the The network NETGEAR requires a WPA password prompt

      I think I might have to give up and forget airport, I will have to stick to ethernet cable only, one reason why I wanted to try airport was because I was worried that someone had either hacked into my netgear or my Sky broadband internet connection.

      Sometimes I wish I got a PC instead of a Mac.

      Thanks

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Understanding Airport

      Still getting the The network NETGEAR requires a WPA password prompt
      Your Mac must still be trying to connect by wireless. Until you get the WPA key sorted out, switch off the wireless. I don't know how to do this on your Mac, but usually there is a manual or software switch. When you do that unplug the ethernet cable and plug it in again. Your machine should then pick up the router and connect using the cable.

      Sorry I misunderstood your problem earlier, I thought you had an Airport Extreme router and was trying to connect that. I now realise you are just trying to connect your Mac to the router wirelessly. With regards security, your most secure way is to connect by cable and turn the wireless off in the router. There is then very little chance of anyone hacking your system.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Understanding Airport

      To turn of your wireless click on the wifi symbol in the top bar and select 'Turn Airport Off'

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Understanding Airport

      With the security concerns you have, you may be better turning off the wireless and using cable only, this applies especially if your machine is a desktop, where there is little or no advantage in using wireless.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Understanding Airport

      Quote Originally Posted by wolfie34 View Post

      Sometimes I wish I got a PC instead of a Mac.

      Thanks
      Never wish that
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Understanding Airport-photo.jpg  

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION