Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Are my speed problems between my router and my iMAC

    This is a discussion on Are my speed problems between my router and my iMAC within the Mac users forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Ever since I joined Sky my download speeds have been around 14 to 20kbs. Sky support have helped me as ...

    1. #1
      keithh44's Avatar
      keithh44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01494
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Are my speed problems between my router and my iMAC

      Ever since I joined Sky my download speeds have been around 14 to 20kbs. Sky support have helped me as much as they can but although the router stats say 4128 the actual speed is a fraction. I have been waiting for my year to be up so I can move but tonight I may have found a pointer to the culprit. I have a wireless printer scanner and I came to do a scan for the first time since changing to Sky and it took an absolute age which leads me to believe my speed problems are something to do with my Router/Airport connection and not to do with the router net interface

      My Router is a D-Link ser. no. PVG81A9006719. Are there any known downstream problems with them

      My iMAC is running OS 10.6.7

      Is there anything I could have set up incorrectly to cause my airport interface to be running so slowly. It was perfectly O.K.with the LABGEAR router I had previously.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Are my speed problems between my router and my iMAC

      Quote Originally Posted by keithh44 View Post
      Sky support have helped me as much as they can but although the router stats say 4128 the actual speed is a fraction.
      Need to see the router stats.
      You might be on Sky connect.

      How to get your router statistics

    4. #3
      keithh44's Avatar
      keithh44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01494
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are my speed problems between my router and my iMAC

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      Need to see the router stats.
      You might be on Sky connect.

      How to get your router statistics
      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 307:46:54
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 5149 5490 0 61 340 04:12:59
      LAN 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN 1755507 1356650 0 126427 37404 04:12:49
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3776 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0db 30.5db
      Noise Margin 13.8db 20.0db

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Are my speed problems between my router and my iMAC

      What channel is in use on the router wireless?

    6. #5
      keithh44's Avatar
      keithh44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01494
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are my speed problems between my router and my iMAC

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      What channel is in use on the router wireless?
      6

      What does that mean?

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Are my speed problems between my router and my iMAC

      Channel is irrelevant, you're Sky Connect which is the cause of your issues
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to IWasNotTheEnemy For This Useful Post:

      keithh44 (22-06-11)

    9. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Are my speed problems between my router and my iMAC

      You are on Sky BB connect. Please read this thread:

      (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users

      It looks like you have become another victim of the wonderful method of throttling heavy users on Sky BB Connect.

      Personally I would encourage you to look for another ISP. Take a look at SamKnows to see if you have any LLU providers in your telephone exchange, these will offer you the best packages. Next research other ISPs and see who can offer you the best package to meet your requirements.

      SamKnows - Telephone Exchange Search

      thinkbroadband :: List of Broadband Providers in the UK

      No other ISP to my knowledge throttles anyone as bad as the Sky BB Connect package does.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #8
      keithh44's Avatar
      keithh44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01494
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are my speed problems between my router and my iMAC

      You can probably tell that I am new to all this. Firstly how did you tell from the stats that I am on Sky Connect? I looked up Sky Connect Sky and I am not sure what it implies or even how our Sky package put us on it. I assume we must at some stage elected it but what were the options. From what I read do I understand that Sky are deliberately slowing down my service. If that is the case it is outrageous I most certainly will move once my 12 months is up. What do I have to do to get the 4mB that was advertised?

    11. #9
      keithh44's Avatar
      keithh44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01494
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are my speed problems between my router and my iMAC

      I was obviously typing at the same time as you were.

      Thank you for all that. I am both shocked and outraged. How dare they implement something that is slowing down the interface between my wireless scanner and my iMAC. If it is true,that is interfering with my system and probably illegal. I will explore that last point

    12. #10
      keithh44's Avatar
      keithh44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01494
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are my speed problems between my router and my iMAC

      Does anyone know where the throttling physically takes place? Is it in the Sky equipment at the telephone exchange, do they download instructions to my router or is it somewhere else altogether?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION