Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    just bought a mac

    This is a discussion on just bought a mac within the Mac users forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I've just bought an imac and i'm trying to get prepared before i try and set it up to connect ...

    1. #1
      mattpearce79's Avatar
      mattpearce79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: south elmsall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      just bought a mac

      I've just bought an imac and i'm trying to get prepared before i try and set it up to connect to my sky router. Can anyone offer any adivce on how easy the set up is/was.

      I currently have a PC which i found fairly straight forward enough..but have no experience with MACs and i could ideally know with what;s the best way to set it up.

      Am i best to wire it up with the sky install disc that came with the router or will the wireless enabled settings automatically detect my router, if so what do i need to set eg SSID, WPA passwords etc...

      any help is greatly appreciated.

      Matt


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: just bought a mac

      Don't bother using the disk, it just clutters your machine up with a lot of useless junk. You should be able to detect the router with your wireless, then all you have to do is put in the network key when it is requested. If you have not changed it, which you should, it is 8 capital letters, no numbers. You would probably be better connecting with the cable first.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      mattpearce79's Avatar
      mattpearce79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: south elmsall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just bought a mac

      thanks for that Isitme... i was hoping i wouldn't have to intsall using the disk and it install loads of anti-virus software on my PC even though i'm certain i clicked "Do not Install".

    5. #4
      janitor's Avatar
      janitor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01983
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      104
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: just bought a mac

      If it's just out of the box, just switch on answer questions, register machine,select your router when given the list, and type in network key when asked, job done

    6. #5
      mattpearce79's Avatar
      mattpearce79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: south elmsall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just bought a mac

      Janitor - it was as simple as you said..worked like a treat and really simple.

      But...at first the airport signal strenth was good but the internet was really slow..shut down and restart solved the problem.

      I now keep losing the wireless connection, when i start the machine up i have 4 solid bars indicating a good signal, but after a few minutes it just dies and i get a message say "Connection was lost to SKY ****"

      any ideas???

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: just bought a mac

      Try changing the channel in the router. That can very often improve the connection. If you have not changed it previously it will be on Auto, take it off that and try No 13, work your way down till you find the best connection.

      You could also try Netstunbler from the link below. This will show you what channels are in use in your neighbourhood. Choose one as far from those in use as possible. You will have to run this on your PC, if it is wireless enabled, as I don't think it is compatible with Macs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      mattpearce79's Avatar
      mattpearce79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: south elmsall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just bought a mac

      i'll give it a go later-at work at the moment and my clunky PC keyborad feels horrible compared to my new Imac one!

    9. #8
      janitor's Avatar
      janitor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01983
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      104
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: just bought a mac

      I think the channel change should do it, i had trouble with my macbook doing that, and that was a netgear router, but as the router i had only had a choice of 7 channels couldn't get it to work, in the end connected another access point , selected channel 11 and that did the trick. Was a strange one because only two of the macs had an issue with it, the rest were fine.

    10. #9
      diandave's Avatar
      diandave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fazeley
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Staffs
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: just bought a mac

      After trying most of the others I also found channel 11 was best on my Macbook....

    11. #10
      MonsterMunch's Avatar
      MonsterMunch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01209
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just bought a mac

      iStumbler is a good Mac alternative to Netstumbler.

      iStumbler 99


      Approximately 973 metres from the exchange

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION