Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky Router, Airport Extreme and ports!!

    This is a discussion on Sky Router, Airport Extreme and ports!! within the Mac users forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all, Wondering if someone can give me some guidance. I have a Sky router which broadcasts a 'g' signal ...

    1. #1
      thornden4's Avatar
      thornden4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Sky Router, Airport Extreme and ports!!

      Hi all,

      Wondering if someone can give me some guidance.

      I have a Sky router which broadcasts a 'g' signal and I have my Airport Extreme broadcasting an 'n' signal. It is wired to the Sky Router and acts as a bridge i.e. the Sky Router deals with NAT and DHCP.

      My question is this.

      I use Transmission for downloading and it keeps saying ports closed. How do I open ports?

      When I had a cable modem it was easy as I could just configure the Airport Extreme and all was great. I just cannot seem to to figure out the setup with the Sky Router involved.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jezzicaz789's Avatar
      jezzicaz789 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: jezzicaz789
      Broadband ISP: jezzicaz789
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router, Airport Extreme and ports!!

      Hi , I am a new member of forum. Would a newcomer be warmly welcome here? Good day you guys!!!

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Router, Airport Extreme and ports!!

      Here is a tutorial on opening ports with the AE -
      iClarified - Airport Extreme - Forward a Port Using Your Airport Extreme (Comments)

      I am not sure if this is what you need or whether you also need to open a port on the router. I don't think there is specific instructions for the AE but if you follow the directions here and substitute the names and the port (5900) it should work.
      Port Forwarding DINA DVR Server on the Netgear DG934G


      @jezzicaz789
      This forum is for users of the British Sky Broadcasting services and as such is unlikely to be of interest to someone based in South East Asia. However everyone is welcome provided they abide by the rules of the forum. There have been some joining from your part of the world for the sole purpose of spamming. Be aware, if you attempt this, you will be immediately banned, no warnings are given.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Router, Airport Extreme and ports!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      @jezzicaz789
      This forum is for users of the British Sky Broadcasting services and as such is unlikely to be of interest to someone based in South East Asia. However everyone is welcome provided they abide by the rules of the forum. There have been some joining from your part of the world for the sole purpose of spamming. Be aware, if you attempt this, you will be immediately banned, no warnings are given.
      Yet his first post contains a signature link to what can only be considered spam

      To the O.P. I would try hooking the sky router directly into the internet port on the Airport Extreme. Set the airport to receive an IP address automatically and then setup the SKY routers DMZ address to match the IP address given to the Airport extreme.
      The sky router should then act a bit like a cable modem and you can treat the airport extreme as the router.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Router, Airport Extreme and ports!!

      Yet his first post contains a signature link to what can only be considered spam
      The link is to a free site which relies on showing adverts for income, they are not trying to sell anything for a fee or any kind of payment. Whether this is spam or not is a matter of opinion.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION