Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Airport can not see Sky BB Router (Sagem F@ST 2504)

    This is a discussion on Airport can not see Sky BB Router (Sagem F@ST 2504) within the Mac users forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; My Sky BB started today and I am typing this from the Mac (Leopard 10.5.5) which is connected perfectly by ...

    1. #1
      Jack_155Q4's Avatar
      Jack_155Q4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bromley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Bromley, Kent
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Airport can not see Sky BB Router (Sagem F@ST 2504)

      My Sky BB started today and I am typing this from the Mac (Leopard 10.5.5) which is connected perfectly by an Ethernet cable but when trying to find the router to connect by wireless with Airport it does not come up in the list - It sees neighbours routers, even a Sky one but not mine. It is well within range (live in a Flat)

      Also I have an XP laptop and that connects fine.

      Any ideas why this is?

      I tried phoning sky and happened to mention that I had this problem but also mentioned the XP connected ok - big mistake, "Sorry sir, as one computer is functioning ok then I can not help you with a second computer"

      Cheers
      Jack


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Airport can not see Sky BB Router (Sagem F@ST 2504)

      airport extreme or airport express?

    4. #3
      Jack_155Q4's Avatar
      Jack_155Q4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bromley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Bromley, Kent
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Airport can not see Sky BB Router (Sagem F@ST 2504)

      Its a Macbook - not sure what it is called - Airport Utility I think..

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Airport can not see Sky BB Router (Sagem F@ST 2504)

      ah right, sorry misunderstood. I though you'd hooked up an Apple Airport Extreme or Express to the router (both of which are hardware).

      I assume the airport util on the MAC is quiv to the windows wireless config util.

      Hopefully a MAC expert will be along.

    6. #5
      Jack_155Q4's Avatar
      Jack_155Q4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bromley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Bromley, Kent
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Airport can not see Sky BB Router (Sagem F@ST 2504)

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      Hopefully a MAC expert will be along.
      Hope so, cheers anyway...

    7. #6
      ippylad's Avatar
      ippylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Airport can not see Sky BB Router (Sagem F@ST 2504)

      Have you tried to join the network on its own?

      Click on airport icon

      The click scan to see if it picks up your sky network? if not

      click join other network... and enter your sky Sky ID off the bottom of the router, then select the security type and enter password... and see if that works? if it does click save to keychain....

      One other thing have you done the latest airport update from apple?

    8. #7
      Jack_155Q4's Avatar
      Jack_155Q4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bromley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Bromley, Kent
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Airport can not see Sky BB Router (Sagem F@ST 2504)

      Hi,

      I have tried connecting manually but it does not work. There are no updates to install, its all current.

    9. #8
      ippylad's Avatar
      ippylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Airport can not see Sky BB Router (Sagem F@ST 2504)

      I would give tech support a call.... I gave up with my sky router and use a DG834N and used a helpful tool on this forum to get my username and password. I found that my sky router has making the noise margin jump all over.. and although it still moves around it never drops to the point of disconnection.

    10. #9
      Jack_155Q4's Avatar
      Jack_155Q4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bromley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Bromley, Kent
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Airport can not see Sky BB Router (Sagem F@ST 2504)

      I spoke to them earlier and after a series of setting changes (disable security, untick and re-tick broadcast ssid etc) and resets (one with the power button, the other with the reset button) I saw the wireless flash up once but quickly disappeared after it failed to connect.

      They hinted at sending out a new router but I mentioned my internet light went from green to orange for a few moments and then back to green and that was enough for him to fob me off with "we must monitor the connection over a couple of days" - I will try again tomorrow and request a new router. I doubt the internet light has anything to do with the wireless broadcast...

      Strange how the XP laptop seems pretty much ok....

      Cheers all,
      Jack

    11. #10
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Airport can not see Sky BB Router (Sagem F@ST 2504)

      If the Windows XP computer connects OK then the problem isn't with the Sky Router but with your Apple computer. That seems failry obvious to me. I'd check the Apple Wireless connection settings.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION