Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    MAC to PC through Sky router. So Frustrating

    This is a discussion on MAC to PC through Sky router. So Frustrating within the Mac users forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi there, I have a Windows XP PC connected via ethernet cable to the sky DG834GT router as well as ...

    1. #1
      Grady's Avatar
      Grady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      MAC to PC through Sky router. So Frustrating

      Hi there, I have a Windows XP PC connected via ethernet cable to the sky DG834GT router as well as a Macbook connected wirelessly to the same router. I have tried virtually everything to share files and printers between the two machines through the router but no luck.
      Both come up as 'attached devices' when I view the router details (although my PC comes up as UNKNOWN rather than the name I gave it? Another thread methinks!) and I can ping the PC from the Macbook. I have followed many threads on this and the Apple support forum on how to setup XP and leapord to share files etc but I just can't seem to get it to work? Has anyone got any fundamentals that I may have missed? It is getting really frustrating. Would it be something to do with me setting up a workgroup called MSHOME when it is on the SKY***** network?
      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: MAC to PC through Sky router. So Frustrating

      It may come down to something as simple as firewall(s) -- always turn them off before attempting a new connection, they adapt to the new connection when re-enabled.

      If attempting to set connection up via wireless, first try it wired -- which will help isolate wireless-specific issues.

    4. #3
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMDRO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Huawei HG612
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,287
      Thanks
      347
      Thanked 154 Times in 148 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: MAC to PC through Sky router. So Frustrating

      It's not a Sky router thing. It's not a Workgroup name thing. You have probably already turned on Windows Sharing on the Mac (and enabled our account) and turned on "File and printer sharing for Microsoft Networks" on the PC and set Sharing ("share this folder on the network") on at least one folder on the PC? OK...

      On the Mac (assuming Tiger), open Directory Access program (it's in the Utilities folder within Applications) and double click SMB/CIFS. Tyoe in the name of the Windows workgroup as per your PC. Click OK. Quit Directory Access. Have another look at your Network folder. You should now see a folder with the name of your Windows workgroup. Double click and you should see your PC. (If you are running Leopard, the procedure - which I can't recall offhand - is different, but the intention is the same!)

      On the PC, first of all reboot. Next, click "View workgroup computers" and then click "Microsoft Windows Network" then click the icon for your workgroup name. Yu should now see your Mac.

      Finally, to get your PC to show up as something other than UNKNOWN in the list of connected devices on your router, you will need to give it a name of some sort. I think this is done in the same vicinity as setting the Workgroup name. You will need to reboot the PC for it to take effect.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by Sky Broadband since 2007 ++

    5. #4
      Grady's Avatar
      Grady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: MAC to PC through Sky router. So Frustrating

      I am running Leopard so I can't find 'Directory Access'. Any idea what it's called in leopard?

    6. #5
      balloon's Avatar
      balloon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: MAC to PC through Sky router. So Frustrating

      Directory Utility in the Utilities folder I think. It's slightly different to the Tiger version though.

    7. #6
      landwomble's Avatar
      landwomble is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161429
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: MAC to PC through Sky router. So Frustrating

      Go into system preferences...sharing and turn it on there.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION