Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    AirTunes etc

    This is a discussion on AirTunes etc within the Mac users forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello all, I'm new here and waiting for Sky activation (currently on MAAF). At the moment I use a wired ...

    1. #1
      hrd's Avatar
      hrd
      hrd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSKMD
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question AirTunes etc

      Hello all,

      I'm new here and waiting for Sky activation (currently on MAAF). At the moment I use a wired 4-port router (Netgear) and hang both an iMac G5 and an Airport Express off the back of it.

      The AXP is used for all my wireless connections, including AirTunes and also Nintendos, iPod Touch and a remote iMac G3.

      The new router (which I intend to use) is a Sagem 2504. What I'd like to do is:

      • Hang a wired connection off the Sagem for the main iMac;
      • Use the Sky/Sagem wireless network for consoles, iPod and 2nd iMac
      • Wire the Airport Express into the back of the Sagem and use it for AirTunes only.


      Does anyone have any thoughts about (a) whether I have any hope of getting this to work or (b) if there's a better way of doing it.

      Thanks in advance,

      h
      Last edited by hrd; 04-06-08 at 10:45 PM. Reason: Typographic error


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: AirTunes etc

      I dont see any problems with that. I personally have the Airport Express connected wirelessly to the sky router and it works fine. As the AXP only recieve music, I dont see the need for the wired connection.

    4. #3
      hrd's Avatar
      hrd
      hrd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSKMD
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: AirTunes etc

      Cheers: Are you running AirTunes wirelessly via your sky router to AXP and then to your sound system? I always thought AirTunes would only run directly through the AXP.

      h

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: AirTunes etc

      i have my laptop connected wirlessly to the sky router and the Airport Express connected wirelessly to the sky router nd hard wired to the amp. Then play tracks from iTunes thru the airport express to my yamaha amp and kef speakers (remembering to change the speakers in itunes to point to the axp of course).

    6. #5
      hrd's Avatar
      hrd
      hrd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSKMD
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: AirTunes etc

      Sounds good. Thanks again.

      h

    7. #6
      simonmigliano's Avatar
      simonmigliano is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canonbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: AirTunes etc

      @reddwarfcrew

      Hi. How did you wirelessly connect your airport express to your sky router? I am trying to create a similar set up but I am getting stuck configuring the airport express in airport admin utility. In the security settings, I am choosing WPA2 with pre-shared passkey but it won't let me enter the password printed on the side of the router as it has to be 63 digit hexadecimal password?? The only other choice is WEP.

      Any pointers would be much appreciated.

      Thanks

    8. #7
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: AirTunes etc

      I chose:

      WPA/WPA2 Personal


      as opposed to

      WPA2 Personal

    9. #8
      simonmigliano's Avatar
      simonmigliano is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canonbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: AirTunes etc

      I ended up resetting the airport express and starting from scratch and then it was plain sailing. I had previously used the apx to wirelessly enable a wired router and made the mistake of trying to tinker with the existing settings. Thanks for the help though.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION