Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Sending from mac

    This is a discussion on Sending from mac within the Mac users forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all What a great forum. I haven't had to use the Sky smtp settings until today, and I can't ...

    1. #1
      Jenny Mac user's Avatar
      Jenny Mac user is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Sending from mac

      Hi all
      What a great forum. I haven't had to use the Sky smtp settings until today, and I can't send from the Macbook using Mac mail. Have had no issues with the PC and the Mac sends find using different smtp settings. Any ideas?
      Thanks in advance
      Jenny


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMDRO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Huawei HG612
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,283
      Thanks
      346
      Thanked 154 Times in 148 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sending from mac

      Jenny,

      Have a look at this page...

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-macmail.html

      Hope that helps you.

    4. #3
      Jenny Mac user's Avatar
      Jenny Mac user is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sending from mac

      Hi
      All set up as per that - although as it is not a sky mail account but my own, pop settings are obviously related to this account, surely this is not affecting this? It's fine on PC/Thunderbird...
      It's just really odd.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sending from mac

      If you want to just use your existing email account, try this:

      POP3 - your own email's pop server (not Sky's)
      SMTP - smtp.sky.com




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      Jenny Mac user's Avatar
      Jenny Mac user is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sending from mac

      Hi
      That's exactly what I have set up - but still no joy - and haven't got it working to date. Any more ideas anyone?
      Jen

    7. #6
      Beephe's Avatar
      Beephe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEDL Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Darlington
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sending from mac

      I still have a Plusnet e-mail account that I still use and so thought I would see if I could access from Mail.

      1. In the Pop Server part, I put "mail.plus.net"

      2. In the smtp part, I just put smtp.sky.com

      I still know my user name and password, so entered them.


      Then send e-mail from sky acct using entourage, to plusnet account - and low and behold opened 'mail' and it worked fine ( tried it 3 more times successfully)

      Hope this works for you.
      i
      Mac 20"
      G5 2.16Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
      OSX 10.4.9



     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION