Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Mac says not connected, windows is fine!

    This is a discussion on Mac says not connected, windows is fine! within the Mac users forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I know i'm not the only person with this problem, seeing as i've spoken to other mac users about safari's ...

    1. #1
      Brookieboydabomb's Avatar
      Brookieboydabomb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Goodmayes
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Mac says not connected, windows is fine!

      I know i'm not the only person with this problem, seeing as i've spoken to other mac users about safari's losing the internet connection randomly before.

      For some unknown reason, mid-browsing, or after long periods of idle time, Safari gives up the ghost, and the whole of the mac is lost for internet connectivity. 'Network Diagnostics' dont help at all. I'm used to windows, i know how it works and as nice to use as the mac usually is the networking options are a hell of a lot better in xp than in OsX. ...but enough ranting.

      Is there any manual way in which i can setup this connection? I am connected via wired ethernet. My only current tool for getting my internet back is a restart of the system, and although it only takes 30seconds (this is where the mac claws back from windows!!!) it's still more than a little annoying.

      I can tell you that it just stops talking to the router. Typing in the http://192.168.0.1 gives the same 'you are not connected to the internet' mesage' stating that 'safari can't open the page "________" because the server stopped responding, whilst normal websites just display a 'you are not connected to the internet' error 'Safari can't open the page "http://___________" because your computer isn't connected to the internet.'

      I have tried emptying the cache and resetting safari to no avail, and i know that the router isn't at particular fault because my thinkpad hasn't ONCE lost the sky connection since it first became associated with it..and this works in both ethernet and wireless modes.

      I have also tried disabling IPv6, and changing the DNS servers as suggested in other guides. Again- to no avail.

      Can anyone offer my any advice on a longer term solution? I dont want to have to reset my router every time my mac hiccups, and i doubt this would solve the problem, anyway.

      Welcoming any input at all

      Regards

      PS: Right now (though it has never done this before) even the restart isn't solving my problems. Great.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brookieboydabomb's Avatar
      Brookieboydabomb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Goodmayes
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Mac says not connected, windows is fine!

      os x 10.4.9
      Mac Mnin on wired ethernet
      Sky router
      same issue on Safari 2 and 3(beta)

    4. #3
      tazmania's Avatar
      tazmania is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Mac says not connected, windows is fine!

      I am getting really really annoyed with constant disconnections, you are not connected to the internet. Some days it happens every 5-10 mins

      So is this really to do with Apple MACS?, and Safari, anyone any clearer to the cause?. Rebooting the router al the time is a pain. When it works it works well, but when it does not.

      I dont have windows. But once the connection is broken on the apple (wired), on my Wii (wireless) the web will not work.

      I really want to do something about it, but is it the computer, the router, the exchange?, where do i start

      any help?


      ....

    5. #4
      jonnyw's Avatar
      jonnyw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Mac says not connected, windows is fine!

      I work for sky, and im one of the three out of 400 that know/use mac


      its not your mac, if youre lucky to get through to my call-centre (ireland) then you may get help.

      to start - check to see if your mac will get to the router settings page (type 192.168.0.1 into the address bar in safari, logins are "admin" as username and "sky" as password)

      go down the left pane to "router status" or look on the middle pane for "ADSL" then look for IP- take note if that says one or not, then go down the page to "connections" then click "disconnect". close the screen, then click "sky test" - take note of the error code. it will be error 100, 200, or 300.

      if its error 100, its more than likely your setup, box, ethernet, line, or exchange, if 200 or 300, its gonna have to go to teir 3 technical, who are a small department in kent who can cap your line etc. what will happen is, if you tell the advisor this info.. they will get you either to the next step (if error 100) or put a ticket through to teir 3 (if error 200/300)

      Big tip - this will get you off the phone as quick as possible, saving you money, best not to bother arguing with them about the fact that teir 3 will have to call back in up to 5 days, as the advisor wont care, they are doing thier job, and no metter how much you argue that it shouldnt take so long, there is nothing they can do, so youre best to just leave it.

      I am in full support of this forum, and firmly believe that skys technical support is ridiculous, i think i am one of only a handful with two braincells to rub together who work there. but to be honest, remember, no point in threatening canellations to the advisor, as they arent salesmen/women, they will happily put you through to cancellations to get you off the phone

    6. #5
      jonnyw's Avatar
      jonnyw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Mac says not connected, windows is fine!

      also- it sounds to me like it could be a tier 3 issue, they may have to cap youre line slower, to cause less intermittency in the line, check also if your "Internet light" (the one that looks like an upside down questionmark) goes off during the time you are disconnected

    7. #6
      MagicBoy's Avatar
      MagicBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Mac says not connected, windows is fine!

      I've had this a couple of times when using Airport on my MBP. I find that turning Airport off for a couple of minutes then back on usually fixes the problem.

      I suspect it's a driver bug as my old Dell laptop with an early onboard wireless G card was always doing this a few years back. Updated drivers made the problem lessen with each new release.

    8. #7
      ickle yoda1's Avatar
      ickle yoda1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Mac says not connected, windows is fine!

      My month old macbook does exactly the same thing.

      Could it be safari related, could using firefox solve the problem?

    9. #8
      iannufc's Avatar
      iannufc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Jarrow (NEJW)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Hebburn - 1.65km from exchange
      Posts
      226
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Mac says not connected, windows is fine!

      I have used Firefox on a Mac Mini, both wired and wireless, with my Sky connection and have never had a pick of bother if that's any help.

      I'd give it a bash if I were you, you never know...




    10. #9
      dazw30's Avatar
      dazw30 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cheltenham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Cheltenham
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Mac says not connected, windows is fine!

      I seem to be getting the same trouble on my Mac Mini & using Safari, Yet my Wireless PC Laptop with IE always works fine.

      I run Network Diagnostics when safari displays not connected to internet & then get the 2 red lights showing ISP & Internet, then when running the check these always turn to green & message appears "internet working correctly", so then can continue surfing until it happens again.

      Am going to try Firefox to see if it happens on this. will see what happens

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION