Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    BT Openreach Replace Faulty PSU on Some FTTC Broadband Modems

    This is a discussion on BT Openreach Replace Faulty PSU on Some FTTC Broadband Modems within the General Computing and Internet forums, part of the Community channel category; BT Openreach Replace Faulty PSU on Some FTTC Broadband Modems - ISPreview UK An apparently small number of Openreach’s VDSL ...

    1. #1
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,060
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,204 Times in 2,074 Posts

      Exclamation BT Openreach Replace Faulty PSU on Some FTTC Broadband Modems

      BT Openreach Replace Faulty PSU on Some FTTC Broadband Modems - ISPreview UK
      An apparently small number of Openreach’s VDSL (FTTC) “fibre broadband” modem users are being sent replacement white power adaptors (HW-120100B12W) after a “manufacturing fault” allegedly meant that a component inside the old black PSU adapter plug (FM120007-UK) might “fail and break the casing“.

      One of ISPreview.co.uk’s readers, a BT customer, sent us some information and pictures of the new kit, which came as a replacement for the old black adapter on their existing Huawei EchoLife HG612 VDSL modem. It is not currently known whether those with ECI modems are also impacted.

      The new kit was accompanied by instructions and a letter, which headlined in red as an “Important Safety Notice“. The letter said BT had, “been made aware of a manufacturing fault in a handful of power-adaptors for Openreach modems … It’s possible that a component inside the plug might fail and break the casing. It’s a small risk. But to be on the safe side we’re asking all our customers with black power-adaptor plugs to swap them over.” The letter included free postage for returning the old adapter.

      The statement suggests that only a “handful of power-adapters” are impacted, although this implies a figure of five or less which seems improbable given the production scale of such hardware. We have already requested a clarification from Openreach, which was sent yesterday evening, but we have yet to receive a reply.

      A Copy of BTs Letter



      These days many of the larger broadband ISPs prefer to bundle their own VDSL integrated routers, although during the first few years of FTTC’s deployment many consumers received Openreach’s modem instead and continue to use them. It’s worth noting that Openreach intends to reduce support for their VDSL modems after January 2017 (here).


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: BT Openreach Replace Faulty PSU on Some FTTC Broadband Modems

      I have one of those psu's but no letter.
      Do I contact BT or Sky, preferably BT as I don't want a combined unit like the newer Sky one.


    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,060
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,204 Times in 2,074 Posts

      Re: BT Openreach Replace Faulty PSU on Some FTTC Broadband Modems

      Personally I would call 0800 111 4567 first. This is the number shown in the letter.

      If they can't help you, give Sky a friendly call. I'm nit sure how familia the people will be with this issue though.

      Please do let us know how you get on.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: BT Openreach Replace Faulty PSU on Some FTTC Broadband Modems

      I would think BT will only be contacting their own customers, not those who bought through another ISP. It will be up to the reseller to replace faulty kit.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,060
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,204 Times in 2,074 Posts

      Re: BT Openreach Replace Faulty PSU on Some FTTC Broadband Modems

      I recall that when FTTC was being rolled out originally BTO were responsible for the connection not just to the Master socket, but also to include the faceplate, VDSL lead and Modem.

      So whilst they may not know who has the affected BTO Modems, unless they can remotely access them or trace the MAC addresses, a lot of people could be missed out.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION