Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10
    Like Tree3Likes
    • 1 Post By stereohaven
    • 1 Post By stereohaven
    • 1 Post By Scubbie

    Inside a Fibre cabinet...

    This is a discussion on Inside a Fibre cabinet... within the General Computing and Internet forums, part of the Community channel category; ...

    1. #1
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,063
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,205 Times in 2,074 Posts

      Inside a Fibre cabinet...


    2. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Medicuk (14-10-13),placcychicken (14-10-13),Restorer (15-10-13),terrorvis (15-10-13)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #2
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Inside a Fibre cabinet...

      Virgin Media are much more considerate of those who want to have a nose around their cabinets as the doors on all the ones I have seen are never shut...

      Scubbie likes this.

    5. #3
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Inside a Fibre cabinet...

      and/or have broken locks so have been taped shut with brown tape as is the case on one of the cabinets near my parents house
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    6. #4
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Inside a Fibre cabinet...

      A bit worrying that a cabinet that size can only service 288 customers.

    7. #5
      Restorer's Avatar
      Restorer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      362
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Inside a Fibre cabinet...

      Why? Depending on housing density, that number seems rather high to me. Don't forget the benefits of fibre start to fall off quite quickly beyond a few hundred metres from the cabinet.

    8. #6
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      317
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Inside a Fibre cabinet...

      This is the same situation as what used to occur round where I live. Has been like it since I can remember, I think they just gave up with replacing the locks. Mind you, it was a BT box and not virgin.

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      and/or have broken locks so have been taped shut with brown tape as is the case on one of the cabinets near my parents house

    9. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,063
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,205 Times in 2,074 Posts

      Re: Inside a Fibre cabinet...

      Whilst BTO and VM may give up on repairing the doors of the cabinets, it is potentially quite bad.

      I realise that some areas are better than others, but I have seen a cabinet which had been torched by someone. Perhaps someone else can confirm how many homes could be connected to a single cabinet, but every single one connected to this cabinet lost their telephone and broadband services for several days whilst BTO arranged for new cables and a new green street box to be installed and tested.

      Guess who picks up the bill?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #8
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Inside a Fibre cabinet...

      I'm amazed VM customers get any broadband let alone superfast broadband...

      Inside a Fibre cabinet...-virgin-media.jpg
      jrfer likes this.

    11. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Inside a Fibre cabinet...

      Quote Originally Posted by stereohaven View Post
      I'm amazed VM customers get any broadband let alone superfast broadband...

      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	virgin media.jpg 
Views:	4204 
Size:	172.2 KB 
ID:	4653
      Makes a handy rubbish bin by the look of it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,063
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,205 Times in 2,074 Posts

      Re: Inside a Fibre cabinet...

      I wonder if someone will be brave/foolish enough to empty their bladder late at night in it?

      There is a YouTube video of someone doing this on an electric fence. Apparently he won't be doing it again.
      jrfer likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION