Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11
    Like Tree1Likes

    Does anyone know how the infrastructure works? would appreciate ANY help

    This is a discussion on Does anyone know how the infrastructure works? would appreciate ANY help within the General Computing and Internet forums, part of the Community channel category; I'm a student who's going to be moving into Jesmond, Newcastle. The virgin fibre optic internet is notoriously slow there ...

    1. #1
      ash91's Avatar
      ash91 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Radcliffe
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Does anyone know how the infrastructure works? would appreciate ANY help

      I'm a student who's going to be moving into Jesmond, Newcastle. The virgin fibre optic internet is notoriously slow there (some compare it to dial-up) and virgin claim it is because of the extremely high density of students living in the area. I was just wondering, if I go with a different provider, will it solve the problem?

      I.e. Do all the internet providers use different infrastructure? Will switching to a different fibre optic provider such as sky solve the problem of slow internet? Or if all providers use the same fibre optic infrastructure, will switching to a non-fibre optic provider solve the problem? Or is it the case that ALL providers will be slow in the area due to the huge amount of students, leading to oversubscription of the internet cables?

      I would appreciate any help as internet is going to be vital for my final year of studies. Thanks a TON


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Does anyone know how the infrastructure works? would appreciate ANY help

      When it comes to fibre, Virgin have their own infrastructure and the rest, like BT and Sky use the BTO infrastructure. Speeds depend on how far you are from your fibre cabinet.
      It's not totally free of congestion, but it's no where near as bad as the worst Virgin media slow downs that you've experienced.

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Fryingpan77 For This Useful Post:

      ash91 (22-08-12)

    5. #3
      ash91's Avatar
      ash91 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Radcliffe
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does anyone know how the infrastructure works? would appreciate ANY help

      Thanks for the reply Fryingpan77

      Just to clarify, you're saying the Sky fibre optic cables in the area will not suffer from the congestion that's slowing down the virgin cables in the area, because they are separate from each other and their infrastructure is different?

    6. #4
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Does anyone know how the infrastructure works? would appreciate ANY help

      That's correct. Totally separate.

      I've had fibre now since April and it's been fantastic. No slow downs at any time for myself.

      You can also take a look at the fibre broadband section on this forum, and read the thread about people's positive experiences with sky fibre. That should put you mind at ease.


      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Fryingpan77 For This Useful Post:

      ash91 (22-08-12)

    8. #5
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Does anyone know how the infrastructure works? would appreciate ANY help

      Sky's VDSL2 uses the bt copper pair from the house to bt's dslam in the cabinet
      then via a direct fibre link (bt owned) back to the exchange
      its then handed over to sky's equipment and its sky's backbone from there on

      So in my case when VDSL2 goes live here

      it will be 100m of BT Copper
      230m of BT Fibre
      until its handed over to Sky's backbone

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Shonk For This Useful Post:

      ash91 (22-08-12)

    10. #6
      ash91's Avatar
      ash91 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Radcliffe
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does anyone know how the infrastructure works? would appreciate ANY help

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      Sky's VDSL2 uses the bt copper pair from the house to bt's dslam in the cabinet
      then via a direct fibre link (bt owned) back to the exchange
      its then handed over to sky's equipment and its sky's backbone from there on

      So in my case when VDSL2 goes live here

      it will be 100m of BT Copper
      230m of BT Fibre
      until its handed over to Sky's backbone

      Do Virgin also use the BT Copper and BT fibre? Because if both Sky and Virgin use the same infrastructure before it gets transferred to their own backbones, then Sky will suffer from the same congestion that virgin suffers in the area

    11. #7
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,947
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Does anyone know how the infrastructure works? would appreciate ANY help

      No Virgin is the only company who have there own fibre network from street cabs all the way back completely seperate from BT. BT's fibre to the cabinet is alot newer in comparison having only been rolled out over the last year or so for domestic users.

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Koala5 For This Useful Post:

      ash91 (26-08-12)

    13. #8
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Does anyone know how the infrastructure works? would appreciate ANY help

      Virgin use coax from the house to theyr cab
      then fiber back to the cmts

      with the docsis system the cmts can get overloaded easily if not managed well

      which happens often with virgin

      also virgin's back haul is creaking

      so nope they dont use bt's copper and dslam's

      its been said that sky have more backhaul from some exchanges than the whole of virgin's backhaul combined
      and i can well believe it being with virgin for 11 years for bb 1999 to 2010

      I have been with sky for 2 years now and its a1 24/7 and jitter is 0
      NewsreadeR likes this.

    14. The Following User Says Thank You to Shonk For This Useful Post:

      ash91 (26-08-12)

    15. #9
      ash91's Avatar
      ash91 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Radcliffe
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does anyone know how the infrastructure works? would appreciate ANY help

      thanks for all of your replies it's convinced me that (hopefully!) sky fibre optic won't suffer the same extreme congestion problems as virgin. Sky fibre optic is much more expensive, but it will be worth it if it can deliver what it promises (unlike virgin)

    16. #10
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Does anyone know how the infrastructure works? would appreciate ANY help

      Depending on the types of things you need your Internet for, Sky unlimited broadband might still be a good option.
      I got 15mbps, and you won't be slowed down at peak times.
      You can get some great deals too, if fibre is a bit pricey for you.

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION