Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    How are these line stats?

    This is a discussion on How are these line stats? within the General chat forums, part of the Community channel category; Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,321 / 18,230 Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 9.45 / 32.61 Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 17.5 ...

    1. #1
      Mark's Avatar
      Mark is offline Skyuser IRC Admin
      Exchange: Northern
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How are these line stats?

      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,321 / 18,230
      Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 9.45 / 32.61
      Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 17.5
      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.5 / 18.5
      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 7.0 / 6.5


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Mark they look a little odd to me do you live in the exchange.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      Mark's Avatar
      Mark is offline Skyuser IRC Admin
      Exchange: Northern
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      261 metres away

      So are they good?


      This is my first time away from cable
      Last edited by Wheelie; 20-09-06 at 12:10 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User Name this helps us to keep the forum tidy and posts more compact. Thanks

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      They are

      but the SN Margin seems a little on the low side
      Last edited by Wheelie; 20-09-06 at 12:12 PM.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      Julian's Avatar
      Julian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm still really confused by the SNR figures and I just don't know if I should be worried. I am on an 8Mb UK Online service and my SNR figures never get above 3dB (my downstream SNR is usually 2db and just occassionally gets up to 3db). By all accounts this is catastrophic (e.g. 6.5db has just been described as "a bit on the low side"). However, I routinely sync at 7.2Mb at about 1.6km from the exchange and never get disconnects.

      I'm just really worried when I see people talking about disconnects at 2db level and that somehow UK Online equipment is working miracles and my Sky service will be unusable. Am I right to be worried or are the SNR figures just not comparable?

      If UK Online is giving me a consistent sync at almost 88% of theoretical maximum, and this is via a modem plugged into some pretty dodgy extension wiring and not the master socket, then all things being equal, and with some radical improvements to my internal house wiring, I'm really hoping to get into the 12Mb+ zone, maybe even 14Mb+, with Sky Max. Am I being unrealistic?

      - Julian
      Last edited by Wheelie; 20-09-06 at 01:45 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User Name this helps us to keep the forum tidy and posts more compact. Thanks

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You are coerrect and if your figures are right then I would be looking to improve them, heve you tried tesing your connection in the master scoket if not it would be a good idea to try it.

      Also do you have filters on all you phone points in use?
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Quote Originally Posted by Mark View Post
      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,321 / 18,230
      Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 9.45 / 32.61
      Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 17.5
      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.5 / 18.5
      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 7.0 / 6.5
      why are you showing us stats from your Be. connection...?
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    9. #8
      Mark's Avatar
      Mark is offline Skyuser IRC Admin
      Exchange: Northern
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Not to sure where to post them or am i not allowed?

    10. #9
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      you are welcome Mark, it just could have been confusing as some members may think they are SkyBB stats,

      ill move them to the general chat forum as this is not realy about SkyBB

      ill leave a redirect though
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    11. #10
      Julian's Avatar
      Julian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Wheelie View Post
      You are coerrect and if your figures are right then I would be looking to improve them, heve you tried tesing your connection in the master scoket if not it would be a good idea to try it.

      Also do you have filters on all you phone points in use?
      I have filters on my all my phone points in use. I haven't tried it in the master socket yet because it's about a 15m cable run to get to it. I should have a builder onsite sometime in Nov/Dec so I plan to get him to drill some holes in a wall so that I can thread an ethernet cable through, at which point I'll move the ADSL modem into my hall cupboard (where the master socket is) and try the experiment. I'm just so confused as to how my connection is so fast and so stable with such a lousy SNR.

      Because my master socket is in a cupboard I don't care how messy it looks. I read talk on these forums suggesting people try plugging the ADSL modem into the test socket hidden behind the lower removable faceplate. These suggestions are usually just as a test but I got the impression that this test socket should be the least noisy connection of all and, since it's all hidden in a cupboard, I could keep my ADSL modem permanently plugged into the test socket without it looking messy. Is this likely to be the best solution of all?

      - Julian

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION