Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    How to play games between PC's

    This is a discussion on How to play games between PC's within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi. Just wondered if anyone has some pointers for how to set up a LAN in the home using wired ...

    1. #1
      nomy's Avatar
      nomy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01565
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Cheshire
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How to play games between PC's

      Hi.

      Just wondered if anyone has some pointers for how to set up a LAN in the home using wired and wireless.

      I have a PC updstairs which is connected via ethernet cable to the SKY wireless router, the other PC is connected via Netgear wireless USB adapter. Is it possible to set them up to play against each other in games like Q3 and COD2 etc?

      This is my first venture into networking and I have just got the PC's to talk and share files ok, but now I would like to play between them. Is it possible?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      bulldog's Avatar
      bulldog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WNCSN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      141
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to play games between PC's

      Quote Originally Posted by nomy View Post
      Hi.

      Just wondered if anyone has some pointers for how to set up a LAN in the home using wired and wireless.

      I have a PC updstairs which is connected via ethernet cable to the SKY wireless router, the other PC is connected via Netgear wireless USB adapter. Is it possible to set them up to play against each other in games like Q3 and COD2 etc?

      This is my first venture into networking and I have just got the PC's to talk and share files ok, but now I would like to play between them. Is it possible?
      Hi my pc is hard wired to the router and my sons is wireless, we have had no problems setting up for lan.
      We played cod2 the other night with no problems just start the server on cod2 you will see a tab that says internet lan favourites ect, just select lan.
      Last edited by bulldog; 14-02-07 at 02:39 PM.
      Sky bb Max

    4. #3
      nomy's Avatar
      nomy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01565
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Cheshire
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to play games between PC's

      Thanks Bulldog, I'll go give that a go later.

      Things are never that easy for me... surely

    5. #4
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: How to play games between PC's

      Technology is a great thing - When it works (Which it will )

    6. #5
      nomy's Avatar
      nomy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01565
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Cheshire
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to play games between PC's

      Hmm, if I choose LAN on the server setup page for COD2, all I get is the console telling me something about 'hitch warning' It's just the console on the desktop that appears, the normal interface is gone.

      Any ideas? I'm in the middle of googling and there's loads of problems about this, but no clear solution....yet...
      Last edited by nomy; 14-02-07 at 04:47 PM.

    7. #6
      IanMax's Avatar
      IanMax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peartree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to play games between PC's

      If your other pc connects to the internet through the sky router then its just a case of adding ipx/spx protocol in the conections tab on both pc's. Thats all you normally need to do to get it to work.#

      Regards

      Ian

    8. #7
      nomy's Avatar
      nomy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01565
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Cheshire
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to play games between PC's

      Thanks all.

      In the end, all I had to do was start set up server and select 'No' for the 'dedicated' option, give the server a name, then bingo, it appeared on the PC downstairs

      In case anyone else ever reads this, the first problem with the hitch msg, just means that I had set up a dedicated server, I then had to start MP COD again to join. But not much point really. The above solution is the better.

      Of couse, all this is just the solution for COD

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION