Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 39

    ati or nvidia

    This is a discussion on ati or nvidia within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; hi all i'm about to upgrade my graphic card [have 100 ]so had a look on net can get a ...

    1. #1
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      ati or nvidia

      hi all
      i'm about to upgrade my graphic card [have 100 ]so had a look on net can get a saphire x6150 512mb AGP[yup my pc is old ]for 85 [reviews seem ok] i run a nvidia card the now [128 mb] will the new card slot in without any problems ?
      read somewhere about chipsets but didnt understand it [thought the whole lot got replaced when u replaced the graphic card ]any help would be appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      tomd84's Avatar
      tomd84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: I bet you would like to know!
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      125
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ati or nvidia

      Quote Originally Posted by dtr42 View Post
      hi all
      i'm about to upgrade my graphic card [have 100 ]so had a look on net can get a saphire x6150 512mb AGP[yup my pc is old ]for 85 [reviews seem ok] i run a nvidia card the now [128 mb] will the new card slot in without any problems ?
      read somewhere about chipsets but didnt understand it [thought the whole lot got replaced when u replaced the graphic card ]any help would be appreciated
      I allways go for nvidia for one main reason, ATI's have a problem with the TV output on most of there graphics cards meaning you get wavey lines across the picture! The only reason i got for Nvidia is beucase i use my computers to playback videos though the telly, so it really depends what you use your computer for!

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: ati or nvidia

      ATI all the way for me




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      jb51053's Avatar
      jb51053 Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: ati or nvidia

      ATI all the way here too.
      I brought a cheap nvidia card when my old ATI card died.
      The nvidia card worked fine under XP, but with Vista its complete cr@p, crashes frequently when playing any type of game, apparently its quite common hehe

      I'll be going back to ATI ASAP!!!

    6. #5
      iannufc's Avatar
      iannufc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Jarrow (NEJW)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Hebburn - 1.65km from exchange
      Posts
      226
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ati or nvidia

      NVidia here.

      I've came across conflicts with certain chipsets and ATI cards, and I've never had a pick of trouble with NVidia.

      I also think the images are sharper, which helps...




    7. #6
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: ati or nvidia

      cheers guy's will think about it overnite [seems about 50/50 at the moment ]the nvidia card seem a lot dearer [my old one has run fine for 2 years with no probs [just a bit laggy on games ]

    8. #7
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: ati or nvidia

      Nah ive had nvidia cards in the past and allthough good not quite up to the job
      ATI for me
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: ati or nvidia

      We should do a poll




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      iannufc's Avatar
      iannufc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Jarrow (NEJW)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Hebburn - 1.65km from exchange
      Posts
      226
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ati or nvidia

      Can I vote for NVidia in advance?



    11. #10
      yodasarmpit's Avatar
      yodasarmpit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      West Lothian, Scotland
      Posts
      196
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ati or nvidia

      Quote Originally Posted by jb51053 View Post
      ATI all the way here too.
      I brought a cheap nvidia card when my old ATI card died.
      The nvidia card worked fine under XP, but with Vista its complete cr@p, crashes frequently when playing any type of game, apparently its quite common hehe

      I'll be going back to ATI ASAP!!!
      Nvidia have been slow to release new drivers for Vista, except for the 8800 series.
      New drivers have been promised soon bit-tech.net | NVIDIA assures better Vista drivers soon so hopefully things will be back to normal.

      TBH.both ATI and Nvidia provide comparable cards, my personal preference has always been Nvidia because of their excellent driver support as compared to ATI, that was until Vista was released.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION