Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 39 of 39

    ati or nvidia

    This is a discussion on ati or nvidia within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; AMD this is my first AMD machine and i like it, you have a pm btw...

    1. #31
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: ati or nvidia

      AMD this is my first AMD machine and i like it, you have a pm btw
      "To help would be a great adventure"


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      akita's Avatar
      akita is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Trentham WMTRE
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      178
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ati or nvidia

      The only reason why I changed to Intel for this machine was that AMDs tend to run hotter & I was a bit concerned about it - but I reckon I'll go back to AMD & have really efficient cooling .... !!
      Rachel

    4. #33
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ati or nvidia

      i have an ati mobility radeon x1400 on my laptop and its great soo ATI all the way

    5. #34
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: ati or nvidia

      my AMD runs nice and cool, i been avoiding AMD's for just that same reason (allways had Intel) but then convinced to try AMD and im happy so far and think i will be for a while
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    6. #35
      Ysmalari's Avatar
      Ysmalari is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sutton & Cheam
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ati or nvidia

      And on the opposing view to that...!

      I've just built a Core 2 Duo system (e6600) and I've got to say it is a huge step up from my old 2200+ AMD. It does depend on what you want to use it for however, I do a lot of gaming and also music production so the added power of the intel was essential, if you're into it you can also overclock them very easily and so can go for a cheaper chip and up the speed manually.

      Although it can be a bit geeky and is an enthusiast site I would highly recommend checking out the forums at overclockers.co.uk for more info. Some of the threads need to be taken with a pinch of salt as they are full of hardcore techies but most are helpful and their prices are very good too...

    7. #36
      Chug a Bug's Avatar
      Chug a Bug is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Yes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      south coast
      Posts
      369
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: ati or nvidia

      Quote Originally Posted by akita View Post
      The only reason why I changed to Intel for this machine was that AMDs tend to run hotter & I was a bit concerned about it - but I reckon I'll go back to AMD & have really efficient cooling .... !!
      The latest and fastest AMD's do run a bit hot but before the Core2Duo it was the other way around especially with the Prescott's pumping out more heat than a small village and AMD was kicking Intel's butt all the way. I've had 3 AMD processors, in fact the E6600 I have now is the first Intel processor I've ever owned.

      As for videocards, it's nVidia for me. I've only had one ATI card and had no end of problems with drivers. Both my nVidia cards have been faultless.
      Last edited by Chug a Bug; 28-05-07 at 01:05 PM.

    8. #37
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: ati or nvidia

      well i got a ati 1950 saphire 512 mb pci , a new amd 64 [4600+] new mobo [asus deluxe] and 2 gig 677 ddr ram [although i went a bit over my £100 budget ,about 250 over ]all runs fine

    9. #38
      TRIaXOR™'s Avatar
      TRIaXOR™ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSDRU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      162
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ati or nvidia

      ATI X1900XT here on a ATI Xfire mobo with AM2 A64 4600+ X2 (used to have a nVidia 6800GT until caps blew on it and it was sparks n smoke shooting outta the side of the comp ) Wifes comp has a nVidia 7600GT on it and to be honest its pretty damn quick for a budget card (Sub £100)
      Powered by Sky Broadband Unlimited

    10. #39
      jamdbz's Avatar
      jamdbz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ati or nvidia

      Nvidia seems to work better to me. Ati just doesn't cut it most of the time.

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION