Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 20 of 23 FirstFirst ... 101819202122 ... LastLast
    Results 191 to 200 of 228

    pings on sky broadband, high or low

    This is a discussion on pings on sky broadband, high or low within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I actually received a call back from tier 3 today. Im amazed I was beginning to think Tier 3 didnt ...

    1. #191
      SmokeKingGun's Avatar
      SmokeKingGun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      I actually received a call back from tier 3 today. Im amazed I was beginning to think Tier 3 didnt even exist. I emailed customerservices saying I was going to cancel and actually received an email back the next day! The email suggested to call Tech support again and I logged ticket yet again but this time received a call back within 1 hour from Tier 3. I did have to be pretty firm on the phone though, not rude just insistent lol

      A change was made on the line (this literally took seconds) and I lost my connection and had to reboot router. This has improved pings and latency to the first hop onto easynets network but it isnt what I would call spectacular and sometimes again seems to get flooded. I wasnt told what change was made but I know Im still on interleaved.

      I asked to be put on FAST but was told the usual thing about not being policy to do that. I also asked about a possible regrade to connect (doesnt use SKY equipment in exchange and thought this may be better than sky's/easynet gateway)
      Waiting to hear back about both.

      The thing which struck me was that there would be a hell of alot less complaints if you could actually get through to someone who could deal with the issues. Being put on hold for 2 mins for Tier 3 and then being promised a call back which lets be honest usually hasnt been happening is not good enough. An email address would be a start, giving out direct number again would be nice.

      After getting through and speaking to someone who seemed to know the what I was talking about (not blaming Tier1 they are there for basic troubleshooting) but it does wear you down logging multiple tickets and going through the same basic troubleshooting, saying the same things. Pings/latency/interleaved etc was like talking another language. it was literally a 2 sec job for a slight improvement.

      Still waiting until end of week to see if SKY can do anymore and then deciding when I have my MAC code what to do then.

      Tracing route to Google [216.239.59.99]

      over a maximum of 30 hops:



      1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 51 ms 41 ms 38 ms cr0.lnhat.uk.easynet.net [195.189.158.31]
      3 25 ms 24 ms 24 ms 82.111.102.145
      4 * * * Request timed out.
      5 34 ms 58 ms 33 ms ge2-1-0.er3.tclon.uk.easynet.net [89.200.130.0]
      6 33 ms 33 ms 33 ms 195.66.226.125
      7 30 ms 29 ms 42 ms 72.14.238.242
      8 41 ms 40 ms 41 ms 209.85.250.216
      9 40 ms 41 ms 40 ms 64.233.174.185
      10 44 ms 52 ms 44 ms 216.239.49.126
      11 40 ms 41 ms 40 ms gv-in-f99.google.com [216.239.59.99]



      Trace complete.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #192
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      Are you sure they haven't actually put you on FastPath?


      Quote Originally Posted by SmokeKingGun View Post
      I also asked about a possible regrade to connect (doesnt use SKY equipment in exchange and thought this may be better than sky's/easynet gateway)


      Agh, don't do that


      Sky Connect = rebadged BT Wholesale ADSL Max.... prob. be even worse for you... usage limit, traffic shaping, congestion, & most likely bad pings

    4. #193
      IanMax's Avatar
      IanMax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peartree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      I've posted this to another thread but just wanted to say that i ping great to all uk servers. I dont game much but when i do i like no packet loss which i dont get with sky. Take a look below and click on the little brown attachment , judge for yourself is sky is good for gaming with a decentish line of 31 attenuation on the max package.

      pings on sky broadband, high or low-16ms.jpg Taken at peak time around 8pm - 9pm.

      I am Ianevey on that screenshot btw.

      Happy Gaming.
      Last edited by IanMax; 01-06-07 at 12:53 PM.
      Bt phone socket and wiring help > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabling-faceplate-help/

      Router stats and help on understanding them > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/router-stats/

    5. #194
      SmokeKingGun's Avatar
      SmokeKingGun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      Just moved to my new ISP today and surprise, surprise my latency is excellent again. I knew all along that it was a problem with SKY's equipment at my local Hatfield exchange. The new ISP also has an option for fastpath (cost 6 one off fee) which Ive had turned on.

      Tracing route to www.jolt.co.uk [82.133.85.65]

      over a maximum of 30 hops:
      1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms . [192.168.2.1]
      2 13 ms 11 ms 13 ms redback-lb-bgp.newnet.co.uk [212.87.77.54]
      3 12 ms 12 ms 11 ms th8.th.newnet.co.uk [81.3.81.8]
      4 11 ms 12 ms 12 ms te1-3.cr05.tn5.bb.pipex.net [195.66.224.29]
      5 12 ms 14 ms 12 ms g1-1-6.ar01.tn5.bb.pipex.net [62.72.140.142]
      6 14 ms 12 ms 13 ms ge-0-0-0-3801.jolt-gw.cust.pipex.net [212.241.241.14]
      7 14 ms 12 ms 13 ms www.jolt.co.uk [82.133.85.65]
      Trace complete.

    6. #195
      kraken's Avatar
      kraken is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      I got the mid package yesterday and when im surfing the internet it seems much faster then my old one which was Plusnet. But when i put on one of my online games which was Call of Duty 2 my ping was 100+ and on my old one my ping was 30-40 so im like wdf?!? and this was on the UK servers so at the moment im kinda ****** and i might be upgrading to max to see if it changes anything.
      Just hope its goes back to to my old ping. Also it seemed that its more of a stronger line like no disconnections or any lagg which im kinda pleased about but i just want my ping then i'll be happy

    7. #196
      jul3s's Avatar
      jul3s is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: glossop
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      Hi guys,

      I have been with SKy since March of this year and joined them due to the price of their TV, phone and internet package, after having a nightmare 6 months with Tiscali.

      I didn't read any of the forums and when i was connected, i was extremely disapointed to see my pings had gone from (30 - 50) to (80 - 100). This then followed numerous conversations about pings/ download speeds and internet drop-outs. Each of these conversations ended with a promise to be called within 24 hours by their tier 3 technical service.

      Not suprising, I grew ever more frustrated with the lack of response and had started to resign myself to the fact that I would have to live with the 12 months contract and then change again.

      Two weeks ago, i started sufferring from internet disconnections every half hour on the half hour. Raised again with tier 1 with promises of phone backs from tier 3.

      This occaision i have to say they kept their word.

      I received a call back within 8 hours from a technician who actually understood what the issue was and could speek in a language that people could understand. He raised the noise level on my phone (after tests within the phone socket - even explained how to take the face plate off and connect to BT's test socket.). He made some line and connection adjustments and also explained about the two different types on connection and how SKY were only offerring one type.

      30 minutes was spent on the phone and two re-boots of my PC have seen the last two weeks gamming at pings of 30 - 50. I am amazed and satisfied.

      So if you can, be patient, some of them do know what they are on about and can help the internet gammers.

      I play all version of call of duty, day of defeat and counterstike and have seen my peformance in all games improve on the back on the better pings!!

      Jules AKA
      {TLS}jules AKA
      [LDA]jul3s

      join us at Legion of Dark Angels One Brotherhood - One Goal
      Last edited by jul3s; 20-06-07 at 07:57 PM.

    8. #197
      Plainbad's Avatar
      Plainbad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton [Newcastle upon Tyne]
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      Gaming and SKY Just don`t mix

      THIS IS DAYTIME 9:00AM till 4:00PM

      Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
      (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

      D:\Documents and Settings\family>tracert 217.163.27.11

      Tracing route to 217.163.27.11 over a maximum of 30 hops

      1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 55 ms 54 ms 52 ms cr0.nek.uk.easynet.net [87.87.248.94]
      3 38 ms 38 ms 39 ms 87.87.132.65
      4 49 ms 49 ms 49 ms ip-89-200-134-125.ov.easynet.net [89.200.134.125]
      5 47 ms 47 ms 47 ms ge1-1-0.er3.thlon.uk.easynet.net [89.200.130.2]

      6 52 ms 52 ms 52 ms ge0-0-0.er3.tclon.uk.easynet.net[82.108.6.149]

      7 59 ms 62 ms 58 ms GigabitEthernet5-0.linx2.lon1.level3.net [195.66.226.77]
      8 64 ms 65 ms 66 ms so-1-3-0.gar1.London1.Level3.net [212.113.3.25]

      9 72 ms 71 ms 70 ms ge-10-2.ipcolo2.London1.Level3.net [4.68.116.138]
      10 67 ms 65 ms 67 ms 217.163.27.11

      Trace complete.

      5:00PM TILL 11:00PM

      Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
      (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

      D:\Documents and Settings\family>tracert 217.163.27.11

      Tracing route to 217.163.27.11 over a maximum of 30 hops

      1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 73 ms 84 ms 85 ms cr0.nek.uk.easynet.net [87.87.248.94]
      3 50 ms 52 ms 49 ms 87.87.132.65
      4 73 ms 72 ms 73 ms ip-89-200-134-125.ov.easynet.net [89.200.134.125]
      5 80 ms 80 ms 80 ms ge1-1-0.er3.thlon.uk.easynet.net [89.200.130.2]

      6 93ms 93 ms 93 ms ge0-0-0.er3.tclon.uk.easynet.net [82.108.6.149]

      7 119 ms 119 ms 120 ms GigabitEthernet5-0.linx2.lon1.level3.net [195.66.226.77]
      8 123 ms 124 ms 124 ms so-1-3-0.gar1.London1.Level3.net [212.113.3.25]

      9 125 ms 124 ms 124 ms ge-10-2.ipcolo2.London1.Level3.net [4.68.116.138]
      10 125 ms 125 ms 125 ms 217.163.27.11

      Trace complete.

      I phone SKY Loads of times Talked to Tier 3 on 5 or 6 occasion all that`s happened is that Sky have lowered and lowered my connection speed and also took me off adsl2+ to adsl. Connection now at 5403Kbps and Upload 608kbps.
      When first got Sky BB i was at 14mb and 768Kbps latency times where great
      Until 1 month ago my speed was changed from 14mb to 10mb Without me being told. Then the latency Problems happened. Well just fed up with excuses and excuses. Phone calls and Phone calls.

      Not good when a Huge company Like Sky Can`t Even get customer service correct never mind the Broadband.
      People try to help but it just not good enough.

    9. #198
      mrtom2985's Avatar
      mrtom2985 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: York
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      Just to add my story to the pile, I am on Connect and comfortably get 20-30ms pings on the jolt game servers (just pinged the addresses listed on the website, haven't played on them). Google tends to give me over 100ms though.

      The only game I play online is Mario Strikers Charged on the Wii, which is great btw! I have to say I have had very mixed experiences with it online, though.

      Nintendo being Nintendo, all the scary details have been hidden from you, so you have no idea what ping you are getting or anything like that. All you know is the quality of the connection between you and your opponent, which is measured between 0 and 4 stars.

      I have never seen this gauge below 3 stars, but regardless, half the time I can see no noticeable lag, and the other half of the time I sporadically get huge delays, usually leading to disconnections. And this happens even when a connection has been rated as 4 stars.

      I guess there's a lot of packet loss going on here, but it's hard to tell if it's Sky's fault or the wireless, since Wii only has a wireless connection.

      Anyone else played this game online? I'm interested to see how this measures up to other people's experiences.

    10. #199
      screamer's Avatar
      screamer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ribbleton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      Hi,

      My two cents will be is that if you're an online gamer you won't want to go for sky. I've actually experienced the same thing as many people here which is roughly good service at the beginning and then, around end of March there we go: constant disconnects and downtimes of several hours' up to few days.

      Disastrous pings (pings to my local exchange, 1.25km as crow flies) 60-80ms! Package losses during gaming, laggy and unreliable connection.

      Sky support - pure joke, never received a callback from the virtual tier3 - waiting for 3 weeks now, called them 5 or 6 times and also emailed them.

      Is it possible to get directly to that tier3 somehow or do you have to give your details 3 times in a row after being switched to someone else who... then tells you to give your details again and in the end you hear that you'll be put through to tier3 and so on and so on...from posts above I can see I'm not the only one totally ignored by sky support.

      Package max, down speeds max around 6Mb, up 416 but I don't care so much about speed, it's quite irrelevant tbh, it's latencies that count for me and I can't get that now with sky.

    11. #200
      brock321's Avatar
      brock321 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      look here i am! guess who! another customer unhappy with gaming pings! and look, i found this forum too late! i am on the phone now to canel - waiting in que 17 mins. im going to tiscali.

     

     
    Page 20 of 23 FirstFirst ... 101819202122 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION