Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 14 of 23 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast
    Results 131 to 140 of 228

    pings on sky broadband, high or low

    This is a discussion on pings on sky broadband, high or low within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; sadly i have very little idea what most of this means: Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s ...

    1. #131
      m.barnes's Avatar
      m.barnes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      sadly i have very little idea what most of this means:

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2599178 2609263 0 530 1721 199:23:43
      LAN 10M/100M 5486 0 0 0 0 199:24:55
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 2613702 2584208 0 1771 583 199:24:46


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 19.5 db
      Noise Margin 10.9 db 13.0 db



      PING 82.133.85.65 (82.133.85.65): 56 data bytes
      64 bytes from 82.133.85.65: icmp_seq=0 ttl=57 time=50.0 ms
      64 bytes from 82.133.85.65: icmp_seq=1 ttl=57 time=50.0 ms
      64 bytes from 82.133.85.65: icmp_seq=2 ttl=57 time=50.0 ms
      64 bytes from 82.133.85.65: icmp_seq=3 ttl=57 time=50.0 ms

      --- 82.133.85.65 ping statistics ---
      4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
      round-trip min/avg/max = 50.0/50.0/50.0 ms


      reckon i can improve on the above anyway?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #132
      maxping's Avatar
      maxping is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cumbria - U.K
      Posts
      401
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      Quote Originally Posted by m.barnes View Post
      how do people do these ping tests to test their pings.

      i want to see what i get through tests. i know that i don't get any servers under 50 now, and i used to get loads between 30 and 50 on my wanadoo 2mb

      Start/progs/accessories/command prompt , type ping bbc.co.uk and hit enter.


      .

    4. #133
      m.barnes's Avatar
      m.barnes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      my above shows 50ms.

      anyone got any feedback on improving this?

      i am afraid i dont know much about noise etc etc.

      any help would be great.

    5. #134
      gaxze's Avatar
      gaxze is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      Quote Originally Posted by m.barnes View Post
      dont hold your breath:

      Dear Mr Barnes,

      Thank you for contacting Sky Broadband Technical Support.
      Your High Ping/Latency is due to the method that Sky provides your broadband. We use an interleaving service which, even though it provides high speeds on a stable connection, can cause you latency to increase. Other ISPs often provide what is called a fast path service. This fast path service will lower your ping/latency, at the cost of your speed and stability. Sky does not implement fast path, and it is policy that all customers must be set to Interleave.
      At this time, there is nothing that we can do to lower your latency, and there are no current plans to introduce Fast path onto the Sky service in the near, or distant future.
      I do apologise for any inconvenience caused.

      Kind regards
      Thomas
      Sky Broadband Technical Support
      Sky
      Sky.com - Home

      Original Message Follows: ------------------------

      Enquiry:
      • I am having technical difficulties
      • Connection
      • Slow Connection
      Hello. Please can you arrange it for me to have interleaving turned off my sky broadband line. I signed up for 8mg to enjoy fast gaming, but my latency is terrible due to the above. Please can you confirm when it is turned off. I have spoken to technical support, they told me to log into my router etc which is not how it is done. They then logged a call to tier 3 and i have heard nothing. This is the last in a long line of issues i have had with sky, so i would appreciate it if this could be resolved asap, otherwise i will have to cancel my contract. thanks in advance
      heres my email:


      Dear Mr Hawes,

      Thank you for contacting Sky Broadband Technical Support.

      Your High Ping/Latency is due to the method that Sky provides your broadband. We use an interleaving service which, even though it provides high speeds on a stable connection, can cause you latency to increase. Other ISPs often provide what is called a fast path service.

      This fast path service will lower your ping/latency, at the cost of your speed and stability. Sky does not implement fast path, and it is policy that all customers must be set to Interleave. At this time, there is nothing that we can do to lower your latency, and there are no current plans to introduce Fast path onto the Sky service in the near, or distant future.
      I trust this helps however should yo u continue to experience technical difficulties, please reply to this email or call us on 08705 515 515. Lines are open 24 hours a day.


      Kind regards

      Thomas
      Sky Broadband Technical Support
      Sky
      Sky.com - Home


      i replied:

      dear technician,

      thankyou for sending me the email that u simply forward to all other customers with this issue, its not the first time ive seen it. i have seen on a forum that is dedicated to supporting sky users www.skyuser.co.uk i suggest you read the forum and see what types of problems people are having. recently another person had similar problem to myself and was given a ticket just like i was to fix this ping issue. he is told he is still on interleaved and has a stable 30-40ms ping. now, do not waste my time to tell me to call that number, how else do you feel i raised the ticket with tier 3 support? which i have yet to recieve a phone call for.

      i dont not find this service remotely adequate, download speeds are dropping to 4000kbs and my upload is a mere 350kbs to a server located in london. Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test. i dont appreciate being moved on to the phones in which i will get a technician which doesnt know the meaning of a ping. this is a tier 3 issue and i expect a better response.

      kinds regards

      can u see whre my frustration comes from?

    6. #135
      m.barnes's Avatar
      m.barnes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      my response to my above email:

      Thank you for your quick response.


      I am aware of sky’s interleaving service but am also aware of several customers who have had their connection set to high speed. I am 600 metres from the local exchange and am more than happy to risk a drop in speed and stability (two issues I never suffered from on my old isp’s). Can you please 100% confirm whether I can be put onto a fast path service as soon as possible as I feel I am not getting the service I pay for at the moment and would feel obliged to end my contract if nothing can be done.


      As previously mentioned, this is going to be the last in a long line of issues I have had with Sky Broadband, and I feel it is about time Sky compromised for once, rather than making myself, the customer bend over backwards for such a poor service.


      Thank you.

    7. #136
      Paulo88's Avatar
      Paulo88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      * Click on START > RUN
      * Type in CMD and press ENTER
      * In the new DOS window type PING 82.133.85.65

    8. #137
      m.barnes's Avatar
      m.barnes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
      (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

      C:\Documents and Settings\matt>ping 82.133.85.65

      Pinging 82.133.85.65 with 32 bytes of data:

      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=54ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=56
      Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=56

      Ping statistics for 82.133.85.65:
      Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
      Minimum = 52ms, Maximum = 54ms, Average = 53ms

      C:\Documents and Settings\matt>ping 82.133.85.65

      hows that?

    9. #138
      bulldog's Avatar
      bulldog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WNCSN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      141
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      Well i for one am sick of the high pings and constant drop outs and slow down
      No disrespect to this forum btw, but when i joined gaming was the first thing i asked about.
      I was told it would be no problem, but its been terrible poor pings slow downs and drop out
      I had better from bt on 1 mb with our three pcs running only 7 months togo with sky
      Unless they sort it out im off even if i have to pay up in the end
      Sky bb Max

    10. #139
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      while I see the frustration with your ping issues, I must point out again that it will remain on interleave and that this is not a reason to get out the contract.

      And you where sent a standard reply because thats all your problem requires. try optimising your tcp ip settings.

    11. #140
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: pings on sky broadband, high or low

      Quote Originally Posted by bulldog View Post
      Well i for one am sick of the high pings and constant drop outs and slow down
      No disrespect to this forum btw, but when i joined gaming was the first thing i asked about.
      I was told it would be no problem, but its been terrible poor pings slow downs and drop out
      I had better from bt on 1 mb with our three pcs running only 7 months togo with sky
      Unless they sort it out im off even if i have to pay up in the end
      Hi

      I am on Max and my ping is fine.

      Try contacting them and asking if they can maybe put you on Fastpath, quite a few have succeeded. The problem with Fastpath, it does not give as much stability for higher speeds. Granted your ping is better, but I guess Sky's reasoning is that they would probably prefer to have X thousands ringing about pings, then Y thousands ringing because their line is unstable. Y being a lot higher of course.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 14 of 23 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION