Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 44

    Nintendo Wii And Sky Broadband

    This is a discussion on Nintendo Wii And Sky Broadband within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; hey have any of you seemed to passthe connection test mine dosen@t seem to can anywan reply it finds the ...

    1. #21
      nintendo lad's Avatar
      nintendo lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nintendo Wii And Sky Broadband

      hey have any of you seemed to passthe connection test mine dosen@t seem to can anywan reply it finds the acess point but always fails the connection test any ideas

      also do u know the password for wep security i ant tried it yet
      cheas


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Nintendo Wii And Sky Broadband

      The Sky router uses WPA security by default.

      The Wii works perfectly fine with it.

      The WPA key can be found on the side of the router, and on the little card that came with the router (along with the SSID).


      What have you actually tried?

    4. #23
      nintendo lad's Avatar
      nintendo lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nintendo Wii And Sky Broadband

      has anywan had a successful connection test mine finds the access point but fails the connection test sum 1 please help me al try wep but dose anybody no the password

    5. #24
      nintendo lad's Avatar
      nintendo lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nintendo Wii And Sky Broadband

      yh mine hs a network key on the card and i tried it on wpa but it keeps cuming up with the error code

    6. #25
      nintendo lad's Avatar
      nintendo lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nintendo Wii And Sky Broadband

      yh i know i tried that but it just keeps coming up with an error code

    7. #26
      nintendo lad's Avatar
      nintendo lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nintendo Wii And Sky Broadband

      cheers for replying

    8. #27
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Nintendo Wii And Sky Broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by nintendo lad View Post
      has anywan had a successful connection test mine finds the access point but fails the connection test sum 1 please help me al try wep but dose anybody no the password
      Quote Originally Posted by nintendo lad View Post
      yh mine hs a network key on the card and i tried it on wpa but it keeps cuming up with the error code
      Quote Originally Posted by nintendo lad View Post
      yh i know i tried that but it just keeps coming up with an error code
      Quote Originally Posted by nintendo lad View Post
      cheers for replying


      OK...

      What error code?

      What have you put in the Wii for its network settings?

      There is no need to use WEP - the Wii is fully capable of using WPA (& I think even WPA2). Never had any problems connecting mine with WPA, & neither have others I know.

      But, if you do want to try WEP for some reason, then you choose the password.


      Does your router have the Wireless Station Access List enabled? (check under Wireless Settings of the router's admin interface, default username = admin, default password = sky). The Wireless Station Access control is also known as MAC filtering - it means the router only allows devices to connect to it which have an approved MAC address (added to the Wireless Station Access List). If it is enabled, then the Wii's MAC address needs to be added to the List.

      If the Access List is enabled, you could try disabling it temporarily. If the Wii connects, its MAC address should appear on the router's list of Attached Devices, & you can then stick it in the Access List & re-enable it. [Or you can prob. find the MAC address within the Wii's own System Settings].

      You could try temporarily dropping down to WEP, to see if you can connect. But WPA does work, & is much better & more secure than WEP.



      Are you entering the correct WPA key? Using the correct case, & not mistaking any letters?

      Are you entering the correct SSID?

      Are you sure?


      Try again... It should work.
      Last edited by Tezcatlipoca; 19-08-08 at 02:05 AM.

    9. #28
      nintendo lad's Avatar
      nintendo lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nintendo Wii And Sky Broadband

      ok well ill try wpa and wpa2 yh i dohave the right key and ssid u know the bit u sed a bout the admin interface do you check that on your sky router or the wii? and how do u get on to the wireless Station Access control soz if am getting on your nerves its just i keep trying everyday and theres no differant

    10. #29
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Nintendo Wii And Sky Broadband

      Which version Sky router do you have?

      You check the router's admin interface via PC:

      Open your web browser, & go to 192.168.0.1

      The default username is "admin", & the default password is "sky".

      There are various sections on the left of the page. The first is "Wireless Settings". Click that, & you'll see a button for "Wireless Station Access List". Click that to see if it is enabled, and to add/remove things from the list (or disable altogether).

      "Wireless Settings" also has a section for "Security Options", where you can set WEP or WPA, or disable the security completely. The key is also shown here.



      What are your Wii's network settings? (find them via the System Settings somewhere). It is easiest to leave them all on "Automatic", rather than specifying an IP address & DNS.

    11. #30
      nintendo lad's Avatar
      nintendo lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nintendo Wii And Sky Broadband

      right am with you but u open the net and wheres this number
      oh ive been waiting for you to reply did you do this to connect your wii??
      plz reply
      Last edited by nintendo lad; 20-08-08 at 08:37 PM.

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION