Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    HELP! pfSense and Black Desert Online

    This is a discussion on HELP! pfSense and Black Desert Online within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Ok, at wits end. Have set up pfsense, all great. I only play 1 game, black desert online. If i ...

    1. #1
      coipu's Avatar
      coipu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EADER
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Hacked ECI Modem/pFsense
      Sky TV: Cord Cut
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Wherever I lay my VPN
      Posts
      510
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 38 Times in 36 Posts

      HELP! pfSense and Black Desert Online

      Ok, at wits end. Have set up pfsense, all great. I only play 1 game, black desert online. If i use my asus rt-ac3200 rock solid play all day no disconnects, use pfsense and it disconnects all the time. tried to make a nat and firewall rule but to no avail, hoping marj or some other very clever dude can help with confirming a correct ruleset for this game. pfsense forum just resulted in lots of personal messages calling me dumb etc which was hurtful/not helpful and so i deleted my attempt for help there.

      I belive BDO needs all the 5.79.111.* range allowed and maybe www.blackdesertonline.com and from their scant info ports 9991:9993 (set to static?)
      i made an alias for my pc and then another for all the bdo ip range
      i made a nat rule as suggested in their help for gaming and moved it to top of list
      i also made a lan rule allowing the ports and ip's too
      still disconnects way too often.

      if i use the asus (unpnp disabled) it is rock solid and stays connected for days at a time, it's hard for me because i'm not sure what the problem is or where to start.

      any advice gratefully recieved (especially the step by step kind :P ) and i'll provide any other info i can, i'm using 2.3.5-DEVELOPMENT (amd64)
      built on Tue Jun 20 11:12:47 CDT 2017
      FreeBSD 10.3-RELEASE-p19

      currently left pfsense attached to network with dhcp off and using asus again so i can snip pics etc... from the gui

      I've just reset to default so you can assume all settings as basic wan and lan just like marj's guide thnx
      Last edited by coipu; 27-06-17 at 10:56 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,803
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: HELP! pfSense and Black Desert Online

      Up to my eyeballs at the moment with work, I'll try and look into it at the weekend.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    4. #3
      coipu's Avatar
      coipu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EADER
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Hacked ECI Modem/pFsense
      Sky TV: Cord Cut
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Wherever I lay my VPN
      Posts
      510
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 38 Times in 36 Posts

      Re: HELP! pfSense and Black Desert Online

      Thanks boss!

    5. #4
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,803
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: HELP! pfSense and Black Desert Online

      Do you have the IP addresses of the servers? If so, then just allow anything from those servers and that should do it.

      You may also want to try updating to 2.4b
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    6. #5
      coipu's Avatar
      coipu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EADER
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Hacked ECI Modem/pFsense
      Sky TV: Cord Cut
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Wherever I lay my VPN
      Posts
      510
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 38 Times in 36 Posts

      Re: HELP! pfSense and Black Desert Online

      ok, already put the rule in for the ip range in first post so dont think its that. maybe need to add a nat rule, but too dense to work that out. currently testing it on 2.4b as suggested. thnx

    7. #6
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,803
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: HELP! pfSense and Black Desert Online

      Ah, I misread that, I saw port numbers not IP, doh!

      OK. So see how it is with 2.4b, they are not quite different animals, but not far off.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    8. #7
      coipu's Avatar
      coipu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EADER
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Hacked ECI Modem/pFsense
      Sky TV: Cord Cut
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Wherever I lay my VPN
      Posts
      510
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 38 Times in 36 Posts

      Re: HELP! pfSense and Black Desert Online

      2.4b has made pfSense everything i expected from it. waay more stable, thanks for the tip, it's rare when a beta exceeds the release version so much.

    9. #8
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,803
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: HELP! pfSense and Black Desert Online

      Been using it for a year! I know it's called a beta, but....
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION