Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Issues with connection

    This is a discussion on Issues with connection within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I've been having troubles with my connection, in specific the pings. Usually I have a jitter which is very small ...

    1. #1
      harshil's Avatar
      harshil is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky hub
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2014
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Issues with connection

      I've been having troubles with my connection, in specific the pings. Usually I have a jitter which is very small or marginally however in the last few days my ping has been fluctuating like mad. I've tried to call sky support but they said they don't offer support on pings only on speed (which according to them was fine).

      Here are my stats:

      Also, just read about tier 2/3 and was wondering would this help?

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Pkts Tx b/s Rx b/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 270646 323144 0 0 0 04:14:39
      LAN Up 328486 254149 0 1 0 16:19:54
      WLAN Up 474952 743696 0 0 2 16:19:31

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10320 kbps 870 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.5 dB 15.7 dB
      Noise Margin 12.5 dB 9.9 dB

      See also - Issues with connection
      Last edited by Isitme; 31-03-14 at 05:24 PM. Reason: added link


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Issues with connection

      You will not get much help from Sky on pings unless you are one of those who can be put on a 'Gaming Mode'. You might want to enquire about that if your ping is really important to you.

      I would add that your speed appears to be a lot lower than it should be. Normally with your attenuation and noise margin you could expect 14-16+Mb. It may be better to pursue that first by asking them to rerun DLM Training.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      harshil's Avatar
      harshil is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky hub
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2014
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issues with connection

      Does it cost extra to be put on "Gaming mode", and also would I just ask the adviser on the phone to rerun DLM training?

      Also, thanks for the advice and sorry for the double thread before (thought it didn't go through)

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Issues with connection

      No Gaming mode does not cost extra. Just ask the adviser if you could have DLM training rerun as you have made improvements to your wiring, even if you haven't. Emphasize that it is DLM Training you want, not just DLM as that runs all the time on your line but will seldom raise your speed on ADSL.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      harshil (31-03-14)

    7. #5
      harshil's Avatar
      harshil is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky hub
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2014
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issues with connection

      Okay, thanks a lot for the information! Sorry to sound like a nuisance but does what exactly is DLM training?

    8. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Issues with connection

      Have a look at this section -
      Sky & DLM

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #7
      harshil's Avatar
      harshil is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky hub
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2014
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issues with connection

      Just got off the phone with them, and they say I should be getting 7-16mb I think, and currently I'm getting 13 when they tested.Told them to rerun DLM like you said and they said that would take 10 days. Also, they said a line optimization would take 24 hours. In regards to the Gaming mode he had no idea what that was

      After getting of the phone, it seems I'm still getting bad jitter;



      Any ideas?

      Seems he was not correct about the 13mb too;


    10. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Issues with connection

      Are you actually having a problem or do you think you have a problem because pingtest.net says you do?

      Relying on the results from a public service like that can give very misleading results. I have no problem with my connection but apparently pingtest.net says I have 31ms jitter from Utrecht, 2ms from Galway and 1ms from Forde. All it's probably telling you is how each server is performing not how your connection is performing.

    11. #9
      harshil's Avatar
      harshil is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky hub
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2014
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issues with connection

      Yeh on the two games I play, one (call of duty 4) has a lagometer which is always fluctuating and the other fifa 14, you can feel the lag. It's definitely lagging still cant seem to find out why

    12. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Issues with connection

      Important note: With Sky Broadband Pro you can change your line profile to improve the line speed or pings. I don't have full details at the moment. Sky Broadband Pro hasn't been fully launched yet but it will cost a little more than the standard Sky Broadband Unlimited. I believe that the gaming mode won't be available to people unless they are on the new Pro product.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION