Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Counter Strike...Steam

    This is a discussion on Counter Strike...Steam within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Anyone else play CS? If so can you connect ok using SkyBB?? Any helpful suggestions greatfully received as the rest ...

    1. #1
      Shayes69's Avatar
      Shayes69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newbury
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Counter Strike...Steam

      Anyone else play CS? If so can you connect ok using SkyBB??

      Any helpful suggestions greatfully received as the rest of the world now seems accessable through the Newbury Exchange ...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Check what port Counter Strike uses to connect, its usually like 9201, 8080, 3552, etc etc!

      It may be the Sky's Router blocks that port! Find out what port and we can try to help you Forward it out!

    4. #3
      Shayes69's Avatar
      Shayes69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newbury
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      cheers, will get the ports added to the SkyBB firewall and see where I go from there

    5. #4
      WiBu's Avatar
      WiBu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      It worked out of the box for me, no messing with ports etc.

    6. #5
      Shayes69's Avatar
      Shayes69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newbury
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      figure that this might still be a hangover from the issues I was having with the Newbury Exchange in that case.

      I've added all the ports and it still fails, even fails to show any of the diagnostic tests

      Can I bring myself to ring support again......................

    7. #6
      fixer2035's Avatar
      fixer2035 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      DOD:S works for me with no action required to get it running.
      I have sold my sold soul and joined SkyBroadband

    8. #7
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      ahhh DOD i used to love playing DOD a year or so ago before they ruined it
      my fav maps where glider and the hotel one where you got to cross the river/bridge to take the hotel type building, i do miss playing that
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    9. #8
      Shayes69's Avatar
      Shayes69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newbury
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hey stop hijacking my moan about CS

      edit: Still no joy and no response from Sky either

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Steam works for me fine without having to open any ports, however I aint on Sky - as they wont sign me up




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      Kinyo's Avatar
      Kinyo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Counter Strike...Steam

      Hi, I got this new SkyBB 2 days ago.
      but i have been having some problems with it.
      It all runs fine and dosnt seem to be any Ping/lag issues
      Untill i play CS:S.....
      i get no lower then 100 Ping (on all uk servers)
      This never happened to me with my old BB
      i was wounderign if any 1 knows why this is?
      or if they have the same problem and if they can help me =]
      thanx

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION