Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Help!

    This is a discussion on Help! within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Your stats are still excellent. Sorry, i didn't realise you were using wireless. That's a whole other world & one ...

    1. #11
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Help!

      Your stats are still excellent.

      Sorry, i didn't realise you were using wireless.
      That's a whole other world & one i know absolutely nothing about.

      I suspect that's the cause of your speed & connection issues.

      My general advice would be that wireless can be good & indeed invaluable in some situations, for mobile devices.
      For something static like a pc though, a wired connection is always best.
      For gaming, i'd say a wired connection is essential.

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to gymno For This Useful Post:

      moosie (16-01-13)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #12
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Help!

      on inssider check 2.4ghz channels and see what other router are using in area, then usually best change to router to less used channel

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to tenar For This Useful Post:

      moosie (16-01-13)

    6. #13
      moosie's Avatar
      moosie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NSIUR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Location
      N.E Scotland
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      37
      Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post

      Re: Help!

      Gymno, Soz should've mentioned the ps3 is hardwired, it's only the computer, tablet & mobiles that are wireless and when i'm using the ps3 none of these other devices are connected cause it mucks up my game play even worse.

      Tenar, everyone else is on channel 6 and 11, It seems i'm the only person in my area on channel 1, is that good?

    7. #14
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Help!

      Just out of interest, as it's wired, what speed test result do you get here using the ps3 browser:

      BBC iPlayer - Check your connection speed

      (Don't worry about the streaming speeds or the graph below, just the first download speed result),

      Other speed test sites that work with the ps3 browser:

      My Broadband Speed - Broadband Speed Tester
      Ookla | Speedtest
      Magnet Bandwidth Speed Test
      Namesco BroadbandMax ADSL Broadband Bandwidth speedtest | Test your ADSL Broadband connection speed
      PC Pitstop Bandwidth Speed Test

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to gymno For This Useful Post:

      moosie (16-01-13)

    9. #15
      moosie's Avatar
      moosie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NSIUR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Location
      N.E Scotland
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      37
      Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post

      Re: Help!

      Ok Gymno, so I did a speedtest to BBC iPlayer and it came back 11220kbps which I can't complain about, I don't really understand why the router says i'm getting 15222kbps?
      Also why my PS3 keeps freezing, choppy sound, loosing connection every b****y day.
      I did the safe mode thing again last night cause that seemed to help last time and it was fine for 2-3 weeks. If it continues I might just get it exchanged cause I think i've checked all the other stuff it could be, plus I never get any of these issues on my computer(Don't play games on it though)

      Tenar, you already answered my question, I should've read your thread properly, thanks.


      After putting PS3 into safe mode and restoring database/file system it seems it's working fine again, no issues at all last night, I thought after i had done this once that would've been it but it looks like I have to do it regularly, anyway i'm a happy chappy, thanks guys.(i'm gonna start a new thread on a few other things I would like to find out about)
      Last edited by moosie; 17-01-13 at 09:59 AM.

    10. #16
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Help!

      Hi moosie.

      There's always a difference between what the router reports (sync speed) & that of test results (throughput speed).
      Normally it's about 15%, which on your line would be just under 13000kbps (13mb), so you're not far off.

      For the record, my router reports 19999 / 1175, so i'd be hoping for tests to show about 17000.
      Usually they do, but test sites aren't the most reliable of things & sometimes i get results around 15000.
      It's best to do several tests at different sites, at different times of the day, over several days & build up a general idea of the speed you're getting.

      It does look like you have a good line.

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to gymno For This Useful Post:

      moosie (19-01-13)

    12. #17
      moosie's Avatar
      moosie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NSIUR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Location
      N.E Scotland
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      37
      Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post

      Re: Help!

      One(or two) last question (i know i'm a pain in the butt),
      Is it worth me pursuing Sky and trying to get on gamer profile?
      Is there anyway I can check to see if i'm on one already?

    13. #18
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Help!

      All a gamer profile really does is set your max delays to 8ms.

      I think that on most good lines like yours, DLM usually sets the delays to 8ms anyway, so the chances are there wouldn't be any advantage.

      The only way to know for sure is to phone sky & ask what your max delays are set to now.

      Something that may give you an idea is a ping test using a wired connection, but i've not come across a site that gives accurate results using ps3 browser.

      You could user the routers ping tool though.
      Log into the router here: http://192.168.0.1 , click 'maintenance' at the top, then 'diagnostics'.
      In the 4 boxes for ip address, put 212 - 58 - 241 - 131 & click 'ping'.

      what results do you get?
      You can click backpage & 'ping' a few times to get a general idea.
      Last edited by gymno; 19-01-13 at 01:04 PM.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION