Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

High Ping/Poor quality service

This is a discussion on High Ping/Poor quality service within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; First of all let me just clarify that i am no expert in ISP's etc, and most of what i ...

Luke1200 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Thanks

High Ping/Poor quality service

First of all let me just clarify that i am no expert in ISP's etc, and most of what i know is self-taught.

However, over the last few months i have been noticing a whole host of problems with the service i am receiving.

Firstly, i originated with a ping of 55 or so upon first using our new sky broadband, this wasn't exactly the best, but i was more than happy with it. However around 2months (roughly) ago i began to notice that this had raised to a lowest point of around 90, regularly raising to at least 150-200 and even the odd time closer to 1000/2000. Considering i use my broadband for mainly gaming, this has been extremely frustrating.

Furthermore i have also noticed a dip in streaming videos, for example now if OFTEN experience buffering that i never had before, i.e. even when watching youtube/iPlayer.

Even when i run tests the results seem pretty frustrating considering they state i am slower than a staggering 84% of the rest of the country;

Also, having ran pings to bbc.co.uk in the command promt, the come back with anywhere between 150-300 and even the odd timed out request.

So that's pretty much it, thanks for reading and i hope someone can please please help me out.

-Luke

2. Advertisement
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited