Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    Broadband problems yet again

    This is a discussion on Broadband problems yet again within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all We are having a lot of problems with our broadband and my son is losing connection with his ...

    1. #1
      debsky's Avatar
      debsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151 522
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband problems yet again

      Hi all

      We are having a lot of problems with our broadband and my son is losing connection with his ps3 which is a wired connection,i lose connection on the computer when on the internet.
      I have not got a clue about speeds and computers in general and its all double dutch to me, i have complained to sky who have asked me to follow steps and change channel etc(can't they do that?)which i have done.

      These are my speeds etc:-

      System DetailsManufacturerSagemcomModel NumberF@ST2304Firmware Version5.14.6.1a4NADSL Firmware VersionA2pD030n.d23b

      Modem Modem StatusConnectedDownStream Connection Speed4608 kbpsUpStream Connection Speed736 kbpsVPI0VCI40

      ADSL Port MAC Address**removed** IP Address** removed ** Network TypeMERIP Subnet Mask255.255.255.255Gateway IP Address2.125.159.190Domain Name Server90.207.238.97 90.207.238.99

      LAN Port MAC Address **Removed ** IP Address192.168.0.1DHCPOnIP Subnet Mask255.255.255.0

      Wireless Port Name (SSID)SKY**** RegionEuropeCurrent Channel11Wireless APenableBroadcast Nameenable

      Attached DevicesUnknownCabledUnknownWirelessUnknownCabledus er1-PCWireless

      If anyone can spot a problem or help it will be much appreciated
      Last edited by Scubbie; 25-01-12 at 11:12 PM. Reason: Removed personal indefinable info


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Broadband problems yet again

      Welcome to the forum.

      Initially looking at the info you've posted I can see that you don't currently have the fastest connection, but many others do manage with what you have.

      There are various reasons why your connection might be dropping. It might be useful to start with some simple things first.

      Could you describe how your router is connected to the telephone line please? For example, are you using the Master Socket or an extension; are you using the short grey ADSL cable supplied with the router, or a long one bought from somewhere else; are you using the microfilter supplied with the router or a filtered faceplate.

      When the line drops, does it coincide with something specific, for example when someone is on the telephone or when playing a particular game?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      debsky (25-01-12)

    5. #3
      debsky's Avatar
      debsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151 522
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband problems yet again

      Thanks very much for the quick responce.
      the master socket in in the back room with an extension running into the front room behind my sky box, phone and playstation.the supplied micro filter is fitted to the extension with the router and phone fitted to that.
      We are using the supplied grey cable
      I have both the sky hd box and ps3 connected with yellow ethernet cables and the laptop wireless.
      It can be slow even if we are just browsing the internet and my son plays online mw3 etc and he gets thrown out of games all the time.

      Thanks again

      Debbie

    6. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Broadband problems yet again

      Could you take the connection stats from where you are, then connect the router to the master socket, without the extension lead, and take them again please.

      Then post the results of both.

      Rather than post the details which were in your first post, please take a look at this link:
      Sky User - How to get your Sky Sagem F@ST2504n Router Statistics

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      debsky (28-01-12)

    8. #5
      debsky's Avatar
      debsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151 522
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband problems yet again

      hi thanks for your time

      The 1st set are from the normal position(extension) and the 2nd set are with the router just plugged into the master
      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 0:05:45
      PortStatusTxPktsRxPktsCollisionsTx B/sRx B/sUp TimeWANMER15671857047803118277230:04:13LANDown0000 00:05:45WLANUp28712386024546175856000:05:28ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstreamConnection Speed4608 kbps864 kbpsLine Attenuation41.5 dB24.0 dBNoise Margin13.3 dB14.0 dB Poll Interval: (secs, at least 3s)





      2nd set with just router and filter plugged into master socket

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 0:01:44
      PortStatusTxPktsRxPktsCollisionsTx B/sRx B/sUp TimeWANMER1090129229210:00:59LANDown000000:01:44WL ANUp6805170407236707900:01:27ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstreamConnection Speed4608 kbps864 kbpsLine Attenuation41.0 dB26.5 dBNoise Margin14.8 dB14.0 dB


      Thanks again

    9. #6
      debsky's Avatar
      debsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151 522
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband problems yet again

      http://speedtest.net/result/1732793888.png

      i have also just done the above test pluged straight into the master socket

    10. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Broadband problems yet again

      Quote Originally Posted by debsky View Post
      Connection Speed 4608 kbps 864 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.5 dB 24.0 dB
      Noise Margin 13.3 dB 14.0 dB

      2nd set with just router and filter plugged into master socket

      Connection Speed 4608 kbps 864 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 dB 26.5 dB
      Noise Margin 14.8 dB 14.0 dB
      I've laid out the figures a little more clearly for you. Currently your connection is capped at 4608 / 864, but can you see how the Line Attenuation has dropped and the Noise Margin has increased in the 2nd set of stats?

      This is very good. The higher the Line Attenuation, the longer you line is and the less it can achieve. What you have shown is that you should connect the router to the Master Socket and not use the extension as it is losing some speed there.

      What you can do now, with your router connected to the Master Socket is to call Sky and ask someone to increase the connection speed. Not everyone has access to the correct systems to do this, so politely explain that you have made significant improvements to your connection.

      If they say that they are going to restart the DLM process, politely decline this and ask to speak to someone who can manually reconfigure your line. If they can't do that, hang-up and redial. You may need to call back two or three times.

      Do this first, then we can come back to the speed test results. when it has been done, please repost your connection stats so that we can check things through with you.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      debsky (28-01-12)

    12. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband problems yet again

      If you have a Test socket, plug into there and take your stats. The faceplate of the master socket can be liable to interference from extensions.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      debsky (28-01-12)

    14. #9
      debsky's Avatar
      debsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151 522
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband problems yet again

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 0:03:03
      PortStatusTxPktsRxPktsCollisionsTx B/sRx B/sUp TimeWANMER41360441490450:01:47
      LANDown000000:03:03
      WLANUp105783706730871106270:02:46
      ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstream
      Connection Speed 6142 kbps797 kbps
      Line Attenuation43.5 dB27.0 dB
      Noise Margin7.2 dB15.8 dB


      These are my stats plugging straight into the test socket
      Last edited by Isitme; 28-01-12 at 03:48 PM. Reason: Format stats.

    15. #10
      debsky's Avatar
      debsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151 522
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband problems yet again

      http://www.speedtest.net/result/1736091314.png

      and i have also just used this site to test the test socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION